We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence Deserved” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cringletie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cringletie House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
409 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Excellence Deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

How can this place receive anything but excellent reviews. My wife and I wanted a special pre Christmas stop over en route to Edinburgh and we web searched to find a country house hotel with warmth,ambience,great rooms, excellent food and a special experience.We certainly found this at Cringletie House. A lovely old house set in acres of beautiful countryside and complete with welcoming staff and roaring log fires. All staff were excellent and we were made to feel very welcome as a guest not just another paying customer.The dining room staff particularly helped us to enjoy the experience by their explanation and knowledge of the food and wines- it's great when someone loves their job and shares their passion enthusiastically. We have been fortunate to have dined at Raymond Blanc's , Le Manoir and thought that we would never experience such food and standard of service anywhere else. Cringletie came very close to changing that view. Our room was warm and had all that we wanted. We have recommended Cringletie to everone we have met since and will continue to do so. Return visit- definitely hope so.

Room Tip: Go for a Luxury Room- a bit more space and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    102
    43
    31
    9
See reviews for
113
450
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is by far the best hotel I have frequented in Scotland. My family and I spent Christmas day at the hotel and it did not feel like a hotel at all. It felt like a home from home, made special by the lively and delightful owner, Viv, her staff and their beautiful Scottish hospitality. We ate simple and elegant Scottish food, drank fine tasting wine, enjoyed the warmth of the fireplace, and to round it all of enjoyed a game of chess with the most delicious mulled wine. I will be booking for next Christmas, if not before! Thank you all at the Cringletie and I look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here on 12/12/12 on the special December deal on their website. Lovely building set off the road in a tranquil environment. The room was very comfortable and clean, but perhaps not quite up to luxury standard, however perfectly acceptable. The highlight was the seven course taster dinner, with each course accompanied by a different wine, quality and service were excellent.
Pleasant grounds for a stroll to burn off the calories. Would highly recommend this hotel, so give it a try.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with turrets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Set in a beautiful location a couple of miles outside Peebles, Charming Cringletie House does not disappoint. This charming baronial home features grand reception rooms with burning log fires. A magnificent first floor dining room serves fine cuisine and provides wonderful elevated views of the grounds. Our bedroom (Melrose) was large and incorporated a four poster bed. My wife and i had room service! no not food, but in-room Spa treatments, a full body massage for each of us. I must say it was very relaxing and reasonably priced compared to other hotels
If you have time try to do one of the recommended walks around the estate, well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Cringletie is a wonderfully charming and relaxing place to stay, the staff were very welcoming and helpful to us. The room (Niedpath) in the hotel was very comfortable and luxurious, the bed was extremely comfortable. The food was delicious.

We used the hotel as a base to go mountain biking, on returning from a cold day in the rain we were extremely disappointed to find that the shower was at best a trickle which went cold after 15 minutes. There was no bath so this did not make our return very pleasant, and certainly put us off using the hotel again if we return.

Room Tip: The shower in Niedpath is useless, though the bed is very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superlynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdvh, Owner at Cringletie House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I can only agree with you. I hasve just checked the shower and it is indeed unacceptable. We will get this fixed as soon as I possibly can, ie as soon as I can get my plumber in.
Please return to check up on my promise.

Jacob van Houdt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and welcoming. The food is, for my money, Michelin star class. The service is excellent. In the Winter there are log fires, and the hotel is surrounded by beautiful scenery. What more could you want?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chose this for a luxurious weekend with my wife. Previous reviews raised high expectations but we were not disappointed. Location is excellent and convenient to local attractions including Traquair House. A pleasant welcome from the Staff . Had booked a suite which was a very well appointed large bedroom with a reasonably sized bathroom. Old fashioned modern fittings with a shower which was easy to operate. If you want to walk in the grounds umbrellas and wellies are available at the front door. The hotel is quite small with an intimate feel.Dinner was of a very high quality as was service by,mainly.French staff. Only downside was that my wife had to ask for a second glass of wine . Thought an offer of a refill would be automatic. Food was interesting but servings not of a size for someone with a big appetite.
Room temperature was just right and the huge bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was leisurely with a limited choice of starters which is fair enough for a hotel of that size. It was quite an expensive weekend but worth every penny and we would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Kelso suite. Good view and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3.0 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
23.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cringletie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringletie House

Property: Cringletie House
Address: Edinburgh Rd, Peebles EH45 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringletie House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringletie House is a luxurious Country House Hotel, set in 28 stunning acres, just outside Peebles and 30 minutes south of Edinburgh, in the Scottish Borders.With 4 Red Stars, Cringletie Hotel is the only AA Top Hotel (Inspector's choice) in the Scottish Borders. No other hotel in this location has been awarded 4 Gold Stars by Visit Scotland. The Sutherland Restaurant at Cringletie is considered one of Peebles' top restaurants and our Head Chef ensures his menus reflect the changing seasons with locally sourced produce. The hotel's bedrooms are individually decorated and all have glorious views over the gardens and rolling countryside. All rooms offer FREE WiFi, LCD TV, Bathrobe & Slippers and a range of Molten Brown Toiletries. The hotel has a specially designed accessible room with wheelchair access - and lifts to all floors. For our guests who seek the outdoors the range of opportunities are truly limitless. The region boasts some of the best mountain biking in the UK at Glentress, fishing on the Tweed (Europe's premier salmon fishing river), and some of the best field sports and golf in Scotland. If you are touring Scotland with your best (four-legged) friend we welcome dogs to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cringletie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cringletie House Hotel Peebles
Cringletie Hotel Peebles
Cringletie House Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing