We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and peaceful but the shower was terrible” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cringletie House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cringletie House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and peaceful but the shower was terrible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Cringletie is a wonderfully charming and relaxing place to stay, the staff were very welcoming and helpful to us. The room (Niedpath) in the hotel was very comfortable and luxurious, the bed was extremely comfortable. The food was delicious.

We used the hotel as a base to go mountain biking, on returning from a cold day in the rain we were extremely disappointed to find that the shower was at best a trickle which went cold after 15 minutes. There was no bath so this did not make our return very pleasant, and certainly put us off using the hotel again if we return.

Room Tip: The shower in Niedpath is useless, though the bed is very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superlynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdvh, Owner at Cringletie House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I can only agree with you. I hasve just checked the shower and it is indeed unacceptable. We will get this fixed as soon as I possibly can, ie as soon as I can get my plumber in.
Please return to check up on my promise.

Jacob van Houdt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    102
    43
    31
    9
See reviews for
113
452
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and welcoming. The food is, for my money, Michelin star class. The service is excellent. In the Winter there are log fires, and the hotel is surrounded by beautiful scenery. What more could you want?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chose this for a luxurious weekend with my wife. Previous reviews raised high expectations but we were not disappointed. Location is excellent and convenient to local attractions including Traquair House. A pleasant welcome from the Staff . Had booked a suite which was a very well appointed large bedroom with a reasonably sized bathroom. Old fashioned modern fittings with a shower which was easy to operate. If you want to walk in the grounds umbrellas and wellies are available at the front door. The hotel is quite small with an intimate feel.Dinner was of a very high quality as was service by,mainly.French staff. Only downside was that my wife had to ask for a second glass of wine . Thought an offer of a refill would be automatic. Food was interesting but servings not of a size for someone with a big appetite.
Room temperature was just right and the huge bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was leisurely with a limited choice of starters which is fair enough for a hotel of that size. It was quite an expensive weekend but worth every penny and we would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Kelso suite. Good view and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

On our wedding anniversary, we went back to where we had our wedding reception, just for tea and scones. The place still looks fantastic, quite & relaxing. The scones (as usual) are baked on the spot specially for you. We want to live here. :-) It is such a beautiful house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmarAgua10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were first time visitors to Cringletie and had spent much time researching where to spend our two nights of unexpected freedom. We don't get away very often so our expectations when we do are very high. We were not disappointed. We loved the food, and did not find the portions small at all. Once you have had your Canapés in the bar then the chefs Amuse Bouche, your starter, your main, your dessert and your Petit fours with your coffee, you will find yourself nicely full without feeling stuffed. The wine list is excellent and my partner had great fun with the whiskey menu. This is a real old fashioned (In a good way) Country House Hotel, where the emphasis is on exceptional service is the most traditional way. We were in one of the luxury rooms that was specifically designed for disabled use. The room was lovely and spacious although we did find the bathroom a little chilly and the lighting a bit stark. I would also pick slight fault with he fact that the kettle on the tea tray did not have a long enough flex to reach the plug.This meant we had to put the kettle on the floor which as able bodied guests was slightly vexing but could prove to be a lot more hazardous for someone in a wheel chair. A constructive criticism rather than a complaint. Overall we loved this hotel. If you want to escape to a different world for a few days and forget the hustle and bustle of modern day living this could be the place for you. In terms of value for money, it would be a little hard for us to say really. We were lucky enough to be treating ourselves so we went a little OTT in terms of spending but to fully appreciate and enjoy a place like this I think you would have to be willing to damn the expense and embrace it for what it is. A beautiful hotel with, gorgeous food and wonderful staff. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phwcl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had dinner here in high expectations (the owners used to run the Horsehoe in Eddleston).

Whilst the standard of the food was still high, it did not reach the heights they became known for in the Horseshoe. The portions were very small (I know, this is not somewhere you come for a huge feed, but they truely were VERY small portions). The cheese board was its usual consistently high standard, however.

All in all, and given the price, I found the meal to be dissapointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at Cringletie House, October 2012, as a base for walking in The Borders. Although the country was wonderful, the weather was dreadful, cold and raining much of time. Just as well we had such a splendid place to stay.

Warm, most comfortable with excellent food. This is a lovely country house set in estate surroundings, off the main road, up a long, tree-lined drive. Quiet, well maintained to a high standard and cherished by its owners, this was a delightful place to stay and nothing was too much trouble for its thoroughly trained and polite staff.

Would I stay there again? Mostly certainly. It's a bit on the pricey side but I appreciated the extras, such as, among other things, the standard of cuisine, the spacious accommodation and gracious hosts. Worth the money and worth a visit. Take a look at their short break packages for quite good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3.0 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
23.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cringletie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringletie House

Property: Cringletie House
Address: Edinburgh Rd, Peebles EH45 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringletie House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringletie House is a luxurious Country House Hotel, set in 28 stunning acres, just outside Peebles and 30 minutes south of Edinburgh, in the Scottish Borders.With 4 Red Stars, Cringletie Hotel is the only AA Top Hotel (Inspector's choice) in the Scottish Borders. No other hotel in this location has been awarded 4 Gold Stars by Visit Scotland. The Sutherland Restaurant at Cringletie is considered one of Peebles' top restaurants and our Head Chef ensures his menus reflect the changing seasons with locally sourced produce. The hotel's bedrooms are individually decorated and all have glorious views over the gardens and rolling countryside. All rooms offer FREE WiFi, LCD TV, Bathrobe & Slippers and a range of Molten Brown Toiletries. The hotel has a specially designed accessible room with wheelchair access - and lifts to all floors. For our guests who seek the outdoors the range of opportunities are truly limitless. The region boasts some of the best mountain biking in the UK at Glentress, fishing on the Tweed (Europe's premier salmon fishing river), and some of the best field sports and golf in Scotland. If you are touring Scotland with your best (four-legged) friend we welcome dogs to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cringletie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cringletie House Hotel Peebles
Cringletie Hotel Peebles
Cringletie House Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing