We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal b&b for mountain biking”
Review of Craiguart

Craiguart
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peebles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craiguart
Ranked #4 of 13 Peebles B&B and Inns
Flint, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ideal b&b for mountain biking”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

just got back from 2 nights at craiguart, what a fantastic base for mountain biking just 1/4 mile from glentress trail centre which also has go ape. just 4 miles from innerleithen which has the best xc trail I've been on so far!! peebles town only a mile down the road with nice places to eat. all this and a fantastic Scottish breakfast included in the nightly price of £30, absolute bargain, highly recommend and will be returning very soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davewills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tyneside
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a lovely little place! You'd pay £200 quid for a room with patio doors, decking and a view in a hotel. Other guests all keen cyclists so lots of chat on the decking and at breakfast. Spotless, comfy rooms. Very friendly, accommodating hosts. Excellent breakfast. Good hot/powerful shower. What's not to like? Zip-link singles equals MASSIVE double bed. Half mile from Glentress, mile and half from Peebles... I could go on and on...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STynetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My partner booked a night stay while taken part in the Scottish endurance this weekend. This little set up is wonderful and very welcoming and homely. Great night sleep in the lovely rooms in a massive queen bed...if not king. Plenty room lovely double sink bathroom and the biggest shower I have seen. Michael would have washed his bike in it if allowed. Breakfast was the best I have had and the haggis and pudding...to die for. Also...best pot of tea we both agreed. Pauline is a lovely character and funny and cooks a mean breakfast. Very clean and spot on. And Alastair made sure we were catered for at breakfast with everything. Very comfortablely taken it all in his stride and looking like he loves what he does. Wanted to stay the Sun as Michael forgot his bag but he said no :( we will be back as making Peebles our get away retreat. Thank you for making our weekend P&A.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Craiguart is probably the best place you can stay if you are hanging aroun in the Scottish Borders. The room (with inside bathroom) is very big, nice and clean, the owners are helpful and kind, the breakfast is HUGE (try the full scottish breakfast) and the whole house is very quiet. Peebles is just 5 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: I had room nr 3 and it was just perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirthgersen1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

It was our second stay with Alasdair and Pauline, this time on halloween. We stay here to ride the trails at GT and Inners. They are always very friendly, the place is very warm, modern and tidy. They will do anything for you to ensure your stay is comfortable. Breakfast choice is excellent and early which is perfect if your riding.

Room Tip: There are three rooms, all are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Amazing location and amazing hospitality. Alisdair and Pauline couldn't do enough for you. There are only a few rooms so nice and cosy, a real home from home. There is a guest lounge/diner with Sky tv and spectacular view across rolling countryside. The rooms all lovely, powerful showers, immaculately clean and have patio doors leading out to a lovely decked area with picnic benches and gas bbq - could do with changing the beside tables for ones with draws in though for more storage. It was our first time mountain biking in Scotland and it didn't disappoint....... Glentress mountain biking circuit is literally on your doorstep with Innerleithan a few miles down the road (you can also bike this on the new cycle path to Innerleithan if your feeling fit!!! If your not an early riser then Room 1 may not be for you as its right above the owners and they are busy - bees at around 7am ...... creating a sumptuous breakfast, we had to delay our cycling by an hour due to being so full and didn't eat for the rest of the day. Recommend the kippers and scrambled egg and smoked salmon !! I didn't think this kind of hospitality still existed... a great big thank you from all of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a tricky review to write - simply because this place books up quite quickly already, and spreading the word means we may not be able to find room at the inn ourselves!!

We have stayed here three times, mountain-biking at the nearby trails,and every time the owners have been wonderful to us. Alasdair and Pauline are really friendly and helpful and to say they go out of their way to make you feel at home is an understatement.

The rooms are beautifully-kept, very comfy and each have sliding doors out on to a large patio, which is lovely to sit out on and take in the awesome scenery.

For bikers, there is a garage to store bikes and Glentress is a couple of mins pedal away.

On top of all this, the breakfast is brilliant - smoked salmon bagels to die for :)

Thank you Alisdair and Pauline for another fantastic stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Wilfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.6 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.5 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
751 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craiguart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craiguart

Property: Craiguart
Address: Craiguart Eshiels Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Peebles
Hotel Class:3 star — Craiguart 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Craiguart Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing