We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent and roomy holiday house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Melrose, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Stuart C
1 review
“An excellent and roomy holiday house”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A great place to stay with friends and our two young boys. Loads to do in the area. We also took the bus to Tweedbank to get the train to Edinburgh - which was easy to do with the bus stop at the end of the driveway. Managed out on my road bike twice too with some great cycling roads around - even in the winter weather. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Thanks for taking time to review The Old Paper House, we are delighted that you found it an excellent place to stay! We are so pleased that you were able to sample the great cycling roads in the Scottish Borders too. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Property”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed at the OPH for three nights. From the moment we drove up to the house, I knew we were in for a very special treat. Upon entering the cottage, we felt right at home. Every room is superbly decorated with unique hand picked items. The kitchen is a great place to hang out and has every amenity you would need to cook any type of meal. Absolutely loved the bathroom and access to hairdryer too! The gardens were well maintained and provide a great peaceful escape into nature at its very best. I would highly recommend without any hesitation and hope to return to the OPH in the near future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We agree that the house and garden are a wonderful place to escape. Look forward to welcoming you back for another self catering holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane h
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful house in beautiful setting. A gorgeous area to visit.”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Old Paper House is a gorgeous house to stay in and the gardens are wonderful with beautiful views. An ideal place to relax and have peace and quiet but there lots of lovely and interesting places to visit.
The River Tweed is gorgeous and great for fishing!!
We would recommend the area to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Old Paper House and your very kind words. We couldn't agree more about how lovely it is and the gardens really are something else! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the stunning Scottish Borders and we would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful house ideal for both active and relaxing holidays”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a perfect week's stay - even the weather was faultless.

The house is comfortable and practical with flexible accommodation so that it is equally suited to families or groups of friends. All the beds were very comfortable and it was very handy to have two bathrooms. The kitchen is very well-equipped, and we enjoyed sitting outside in the garden. There is plenty to explore in the immediate area (you can walk up to the Eildon Hills and back after your evening meal!) but it is also possible to have days out in Edinburgh, Bamburgh or Kielder.

Everyone in our party loved the house. Our elderly parents appreciated the easy access bedroom and bathroom especially.

The agent was very helpful, and access on arrival was very simple. We liked the keysafe system which meant that it was possible for everyone to have independent access to the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and loved the house and the area as much as we do. We even managed to fix the weather!! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C
1 review
“Mr ”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I spent a long weekend at The Old Paper House with my girlfriend in this amazing, well equipped cottage. There was so many wonderful places to explore! The Eildon Walk was breath taking as was the walk down to the river which was only a stones throw away! The cottage itself was fully equipped with everything you could need. There was a big flatscreen TV and DVD player for when you are worn out from the spectacular walks! The bathrooms were beautiful, especially the wet room which would be ideal if you were disabled! On a whole I would give the Old Paper House 12/10!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Old Paper House, we totally agree that the views are amazing. We are delighted that you enjoyed your self catering stay in the Scottish Borders and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice R
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, quaint cottage- perfect stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend but wished we could have stayed longer! The cottage was absolutely beautiful and in a stunning setting. There is so much to do in the area, the countryside is on your doorstep and we took full advantage, attempting to climb the Eildon hills, great fun! Melrose is the small town along and has lovely restaurants and perfect for a wonder around during the day. We even managed a trip to Edinburgh as its only a 45minute drive away. The cottage itself has been lovingly restored and the attention to detail makes it very special. Can't wait to come and visit again! Thank you so much :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Old Paper House, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and cant wait to welcome you back! The Borders Book Festival is on in Melrose in June and is a fantastic time to visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VARDET
SEBOURG
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you for your lovely words - we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay at The Old Paper House and we'd love to welcome you back in the future! Warmest regards Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing