We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast”

Marmion's Brasserie
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a light breakfast at Marmions. It was really good with quick service and good coffee! Bacon rolls were grand and family all enjoyed their visit! Their buns look stunning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    106
    39
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“superb food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

lovely little retaurant serving great food and wine at resonable
prices really enjoyed the steak meddalions
very attentive and friendly service
we would return if in melrose again

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another curate's egg”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife, son and I entered this brasserie and were not greeted nor offered menus until we had been sitting for nearly five minutes. We were at that point offered drinks which arrived and we ordered our three main courses. The food was slightly better than ordinary, but the prices were for a higher order of food. I felt there was a pretentiousness about the place - the wine was being delivered by CORNEY AND BARROW! The food certainly wasn't Fortnum and Mason. The service, when available, was friendly enough but after our bill was delivered and my card put on the "salver" we were totally ignored and we had to hail a waitress to pay.

In summary, if they are to stay in the hospitality business, they need to research their competitors' pricing, give their staff a two day intensive customer service refresher, and ask their clients if what they are eating is OK.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rehaylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch with Scottish relatives!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

While vacationing in Scotland, we drove over to tour the Melrose Abby ruins. We left Edinburgh mid-morning, so were ready for lunch when we arrived. So we stepped into Marmions for a bite to eat. The fare was simple - sandwiches and soups - but good, Service was friendly and thorough. My bacon & brie sandwich was served with some cranberry sauce. Delicious!!!

If you're there, be sure to tour the Abby ruins. Spectacular!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainJack58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good choices, fair prices”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Lunch at Marmions' is a relaxed affair, cheerful service, good choices from an original menu - including range of tasty pizzas. Sensibly priced wine list. Not a large restaurant and popular, so probably a good idea to book. Free parking opposite, if you park within the marked spaces (don't know what happens to you if you don't, but didn't risk it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmion's Brasserie also viewed

Melrose, Scottish Borders
Melrose, Scottish Borders
 
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Gattonside, Melrose
 

Been to Marmion's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing