We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The posh place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burt's Hotel Restaurant

Burt's Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The posh place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Trendy Hendy's Hotel is THE institution in Melrose, great warm atmosphere, traditional wood panelling in the bar and also a fine dining restaurant. This is for those who enjoy the best in life!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sagefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    96
    40
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

All the front of house staff was absolutely impeccable ,very friendly and accomodating but a Caesar salad with about half a chicken breast sliced with 4 shards of Parmesan at over £10 and a cheese board at over £6 with Stilton, Brie and cheddar when there is such a wonderful selection of local products around that was disappointing could gave had that in any pub around the country

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Burts Hotel sits in the middle of Melrose High St, and dominates the eating-out scene in this town. It has an a la carte restaurant, but most of the action is in the bar, which serves an excellent selection of food, that is too good to be simply labelled bar food. There is a wide variety of starters and main courses, they work hard to source local ingredients, and all the food is served with a cheery smile by the waitresses, who will also offer advice on menu choices.

Although it is at the upper end of the pub lunch/dinner cost scale, I think it offers good local food, served well and promptly. Also note that they have on tap an excellent local hand-crafted bitted called Game Bird, well worth a pint or two!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Poor service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've eaten here a handful of times over the years when visiting a relative in the area. I've never been over-impressed, though this was undoubtedly the worst. We had booked Sunday lunch for 1:00pm and the hotel restaurant was certainly busy, which may account for some of our problems.

3 of us were dining - 2 ordered the Roast Beef but were then told it was finished, so revised or choice. We were then told that there were indeed some portions of Roast Beef left, so my wife reverted to that, whilst my mother and I continued with the duck. After 40 minutes, we commented pleasantly to the waitress that the delay was too long: she had apologised several time already for the delay. Within moments of this, my wife's beef arrived: the plate had obviously been sitting for some time under a heat lamp as the gravy was drying up round the edge of the plate, though the meal itself was lukewarm. The two ducks arrived quickly after this and were fine, to be fair.

When the owner passed and asked if everything was alright, we commented we'd had to wait a long time: "you had to wait 30 minutes" he said and walked off. This was not accurate nor did it show any concern for his customers.

Our desserts were OK.

Our waitress was pleasant, apologetic and helpful, but the management attitude and the speed of service leave a lot to be desired.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DougInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had Sunday lunch here on the 7th of October and it was outstanding!
The Bar Restaurant was very busy but they found us a table. The food was excellent as was the service. Could not be faulted and would highly recommend! A credit to the owner and staff FIRST CLASS!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickson1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burt's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Gattonside, Melrose
Melrose, Scottish Borders
 
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Gattonside, Melrose
 
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Melrose, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Burt's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing