We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were really looking forward to our trip away for our 30th wedding anniversary and when we arrived at the hotel it looked amazing. The reception was lovely and once inside the hotel it was a real maze but very nice unfortunately the food that was included was awful. The mixture was terrible and would never have expected roast potatoes with pie or even croquettes with a roast beef dinner? The food was cold most of the time and that was all the food including breakfast and a huge problem getting a runny egg. We spent the Sunday afternoon in the hotel games room where we entertained ourselves and popped down to reception for drinks as the bar was closed as stated in brochure in the room. The guy on reception on Sunday, when asked for drinks it seemed to be a bother and the soft drinks from the dispenser were flat in minutes but he tried it and it was fine which it was when it first came out the pump. The room itself was ok but I have great concerns about the chains on all the windows all over the hotel surely some of the windows should be fire escapes? The hotel is very tired and could do with a decent facelift asap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Yvonne B,

Thank you for your recent review. The chains on windows are for health and safety, they are window restrictors so people can't open them and fall out when they are drunk. None of them are fire escapes, we have regular inspections from the fire officer and he is happy with them as they are not means of escape.

Your comments regarding food and staff will be investigated with the relvent Heads of Department.

Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 648 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

we booked a three night break at the hotel planning a walking weekend.Our room was clean, warm, comfortable bed, good ensuite bathroom with loads of hot water essential after returning from walking in snow drifts.The hotel staff,bar staff and waiting staff were all excellent I was amazed how quickly everyone was served at meal times.Breakfast was very good, good choice and cooked very hot.Evening meal was plain acceptable food better than we expected for the minimal price we paid would go again and look at other shearings hotels in the future

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear lesley c, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will see you again, kind regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Maybe they should be honest and tell us when people are ill at the hotel, also I got ill on the last day.
Edinburgh trip was okay nice to see the Royal Yacht Britannia and Queens bedrooms and meet friendly people from Edinburgh.
Hotel reasonable would not stay there again, did not find anything special about the hotel but is to far out of Melrose, travel to places is difficult and cost a lot on the train to Edinburgh.
Could be a great place for walkers and fishermen staying in the area, but not for my birthday bash.

Room Tip: Don’t have a room over the kitchens, slightly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PeterParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear PeterParkinson,

Thank you for your review. We are very honest with guests and they were signs at both reception and bar communicating the illness.

All other comments will be looked into.

Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on 15th-18th March. I booked it for 18 of us through National holidays. The hotel was clean and tidy. The rooms were adequate for what you pay. The staff were excellent especially Christine. The food was excellent with a good choice for breakfast and evening meals. The waiting staff were very efficient and friendly. I liked this hotel experience that much that i`ve booked it to take my wife for her birthday. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johntoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Wow, what a lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and i will see you later on in the year, kind regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

first impressions i.e reception area were excellent. Our room, although standard (which fair enough was what we booked) had all we required until you looked above eye level and found an array of cobwebs. On the whole the hotel, although a bit tired looking, was warm, and apart from the Manager quite friendly, our waiter for our stay was very pleasant and helpful, We found the food quite sub standard for a hotel, and nothing was hot even when asked for it to be heated in a microwave. Sunday dinner served in the dining room which included drapes at the windows covered in dust, included a beef roast served with chef's potatoes ( which where soggy croquettes) and selection of seasonal veg (which was cold broccoli and frozen mixed veg) not what we had expected!!! I have posted other comments for various hotels, which have been good, BUT SORRY NOT THIS ONE!!!!! This hotel will not be recommended and def off our list to revisit

Room Tip: sorry as we would not go back can't do this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank vivien r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear viven r, I am saddened to read that we did not achieve our usual high standards in regard to your stay with us. I will investigate the food and cleanliness problems with the relevant departments. I apologise that these experiences has left you not wanting to come he again. However I am sure if you were to come back your experience would be much better. Kind Regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fantastic break with Shearings..we travelled on 11th March in the most dreadful weather conditions and due to this did not arrive to the hotel until 10pm, we thought because of our late arrival we probally wouldnt get our evening meal but we did and were greeted in the dining room by very happy smiling staff, who had obviously stayed over there shifts to accomadate us. Our waitress was called Zuzanna and was very happy smiley and polite and the food was lovely as it was every morning and evening, lots of choices and the food was always piping hot..I cant believe how Shearings keep there prices so low what with fuel costs now, i think i paid £165.00 for each of us....how could you drive to Scotland from Brighton get 4 nights in a lovely hotel with 4 full cooked breakfasts and 4 three course evening meals, 4 free drinks every night free great entertainment every evening..as much tea and coffee in your room as you can drink oh and on top of that some lovely excursions. Thankyou to Shearings and hotel staff for a lovely time..im booking again tomorrow to go to the IOW in April.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Lorraine J, thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is great to hear, I will pass your comment onto Zuzanna and the team. Hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards, Luke Binks, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just back from weekend break at Waverley Castle. Great value for money. Room was lovely and warm with good shower. Good choice of food and served efficiently morning and evening. Bar staff very helpful at all times. Drinks vouchers very handy and easy to use. Only downfall to weekend was that there was no entertainment on the sunday night which i heard alot of guests commenting about. Great weekend overall and will be back again soon.

Room Tip: High floor rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleanor k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Eleanor k, thank you for taking the time to posting a review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the weekend with us. I will pass your comments on about the lack of entertainment on the Sunday. Hope to see you again. Luke Binks, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
276 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
1.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Waverley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Address: Waverley Road | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: $89 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Waverley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing