We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent pub grub”
Review of King's Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King's Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Invergordon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent pub grub”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had an appointment at the Borders General Hospital and so arrived here at 2-35, we asked if we could have lunch but were told they stopped serving at 2-30. The staff at the bar asked us to wait and checked with the kitchen and we were told that yes we could have lunch. All the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, our meal was excellent and the cost was very reasonable and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    18
    15
    13
See reviews for
19
47
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stopped at the Kings Arms on the 25th January for 1 night B&B. Upon arrival we were greeted by Anna. She checked us in quickly and discussed if we wanted to book a table for a meal, we booked a table for three (out daughter was joining us later on for the evening meal) Spent a quiet hour waiting in the bar, staff and locals were friendly and beer exceptionally good. The evening meal was brilliant, hot, served quickly, great value for money. We retired to the bar for a dram before going off to bed. The room was warm, clean and very quiet. Breakfast the following morning was very good, my wife had a tradtional Scottish Breakfast whilst I had the very excellent Kings Arms stack. A rare find in these days of modern pubs, nothing was too much trouble, we will certainly be calling again when visiting out daughter.

Thompson ( Mature Couple)

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stopped in Melrose, which is a lovely town, during our road trip around Scotland.
Unfortunately, we didn't reserve any B&B so our last option limited by our budget was this hotel.
At night, you're entering through the bar and ask for the bar manager for available rooms.
My experience from that, isn't that great - but I didn't have any choice!

The room was on the second floor (with luggage isn't that simple). The rooms felt a bit old and not that clean but it was good enough to get just some rest for our next day of our trip.
Moreover, The shower didn't have a strong stream of water.

The breakfast, i think, was the best from my experience. The eggs were freshly made and according our chice which was great.
The cook was friendly and let us feel great at the morning and offered us more bread, cereals & more...
I'd recommend to reserve a B&B ahead before making your way into town instead of a hotel which cost a bit more, but this is my preference - so do your thinking...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A gem in the wonderful town of Melrose, Scotland. We actually stayed in "The Cottage" which is a self catering unit attached to the rear of the hotel, because the hotel rooms were all booked. It more than suited my husband and my needs. The hotel staff went way beyond the norm to make our stay enjoyable, even made phone call to confirm our next stop accomodations. The breakfasts included in the accomodation price were excellent with a wide variety of cooked to order selections, The lunch and dinners were also excellent. The bar (pub) was popular with locals and we met many very friendly people. Highly recommend this family run hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE8492013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the King's for two nights last week. We had a large twin room that was spotless. The only comment I would make is that increased water pressure in the shower would be good. There's plenty choice for the cooked breakfast that we enjoyed both mornings. A varied menu for lunch and dinner is served in both the restaurant and the bar, and we enjoyed the meals that we had there. The hotel staff looked after us well, were friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading other peoples experiences on here I was quite worried. However I found this hotel value for money,very friendly, very helpful (my arrival time was past midnight as I was stuck on a train for 8 hours Instead of 2) and the breakfast was more than adequate. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again at all. The room was airy, clean and quite up to date..... Looking forward to returning in the near future.. X

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triffid1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here on the third day of walking the Borders Abbey Way. We were somewhat disappointed in the room. The bathroom was in need of updating and was a bit tatty (it certainly didn't appear to have been "recently refurbished" as claimed on the website). The hotel really needs to invest in some decent bedding. The pillows were very thin and filled with some unpleasant crinkly material - even with two it felt as if you didn't have a pillow. The duvet covers were some sort of shiny synthetic material so they kept falling off. On top of this, the bedding had been washed with an excessive amount of some sort of fabric conditioner and smelled so strongly that it was really quite unpleasant. The room was small and had little to recommend it. The cooked breakfast was good, but the rest of it was poor - no fresh fruit and tea that was served as a Thermos of lukewarm water and teabags for the cups. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WNGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Arms Hotel

Property: King's Arms Hotel
Address: Melrose, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your King's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Melrose
King's Arms Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing