We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of King's Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King's Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
County Durham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice, but could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived at the Kings Arms on the Friday before the Bank Holiday at the end of May and it was more like an October day. We were checked in by a polite young lady who showed us to our rooms. No heating was on and when we enquired she informed us that the heating was on a timer and would come on at 5pm. At this point we weren't really bothered as we were going out to explore the town. We arrived back about 5.30pm and still no heating. When we enquired, again, we were told it was coming on at 6pm. I explained to the guy it felt warmer outside and took a seat in the bar whilst we waited for other family members and we were basically ignored by the guy I had raised the issue with. At this point the offer of a drink would have appeased me, but... Nothing. I then proceeded to cancel my dinner reservation at the hotel and we made our way a couple of doors up to Barts Hotel for a well earned glass of wine. On arrival back at the Kings Arms an hour or so later, still no heating but at least Danny the owner was now on site and he promptly took charge of the problem getting us electric heaters while he sorted the problem. Danny was a really nice guy and looked after us for the rest of our stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable and of ample size. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, cooked fresh by Danny who also doubles as the chef. Just a little extra effort from some of the staff would make this a great little place to stay in the Scottish Boarders

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    18
    15
    12
See reviews for
19
47
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stopped in here for a lunch over the recent bank holiday weekend. Menu displayed outside looked nice and my wife and I figured it worth a try.

The inside dining area is small but cozy with large comfortable contemporary chairs. The staff were quick to take our order and the menu had plenty to select from. The battered chili was amazing and a very large portion and the beef burger was excellent as well. We were very impressed with the meal.

Only comment on not providing 5 stars was it was over 30 minutes from ordering to delivery of food which seemed a bit long when the place had an early lunch crowd but not so busy to feel there was reason for the wait. However, not being negative as the meal was worth the wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I decided t book a last min weekend away with hubby and 2 year old..... Ive been to melrose plenty so i knew the area to make it confortable for us, (first time id been away,in a hotel with a two year old) I found the kings the cheapest of the hotels, and have eaten here a few times over the years, when i rang to book it was a friendly gent, he didnt seem to be on the premises but rang back within 20 mins and booking was made.
We arrived at 4pm on the friday, asked if we wanted to book a table for dinner - they were fully booked but would make sure we would be served if we did with is been guests. We decided against, but it was nice to know they would accomadte us.
We had booked the room with a cot, unfortunatly when we arrived in the room there wasnt one, but i let the staff know and within 20mins it was with us.
My little boy got very upset at about 11pm (not like him) and i started to panic that i was disturbing everyone in the rooms, s took him dwn stairs, A female member of staff(wish i took her name!!) but me at ease immediatly! she said not to worry about anyone else just to make sure my boy was ok, we sat in the games room for a while and she brought us some toast -Very kind. Eventually i got some sleep hee hee.
Breakfast was GREAT!!! - cereals, toast, t/c,fruit juices and full scottish - although the layout seemed basic, its what i would expect in a small hotel like the KINGS. same lady on shift, again very pleasant, and checked on my little boy!
no even meal taken again,
Sunday morning breakfast was a bit of a let down, in the room it says breakfast is served between 8am and 10am on sat/sunday. so we went down at 8.30 like previuos morning, to be told that breafast didnt start til 9. we could however get our cearels, t/c etc. - felt like we had been naughty by turning up at the time we said on arrival. the waiter did bring some toast, but no butter at table and didnt feel i could ask for any. the waiter did at 9am cme and take our order.... and said chef had arrived now he could take ordr, i asked for full scottish like i had sat and was told i had to pick just 5 things, this again made me feel awkard. but food arrived and was lovely.
Overall our stay was great, just what i needed and although sunday breakfast was a let down, i will be back. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202smith202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed during the sevens weekend when disruption is expected.
Dinner great, staff friendly.
Breakfast though is poor. Both mornings had to wait for staff to turn up - owner/manager even had to be called to open up.
Not going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottySouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley National Park, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

A group of ten of my friends and i had to pre book our orders days in advance of our meal which was a joke. We were in the dowstairs bar and were promted several times to get to our table as 2 of our friends were a whole 8min late! The kitchen were waiting! yet we waited 15 20 min for our starters! Our whole meal we were only asked for a drink once! The only good i can say is the food was really good! just a shame about the staff who are very grumpy and not very helpfull. WONT BE BACK!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sven_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melrose hotels

Clovenfords
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Expensive for very average bar food. Very limited kids menu and overpriced "everything with chips". The Lasagne was shocking and the burger salsa straight from a jar. No one mentionned the special set menu till after orders taken.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Re R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here last week on business, rooms were OK but the bar was terrible, not what you would require as a business visitor. I would say that its OK for a cheap stay personally but for staying with work, not up to standard, others in our group stayed in different hotels and I would choose one of those.

Finally, the bar staff were rude (the male ones anyway), it looked like they were only interested in serving locals. The ladies on duty did at least have some customer service ideals. Chef ok too.

Did not eat here due to not really feeling welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Arms Hotel

Property: King's Arms Hotel
Address: Melrose, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your King's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Melrose
King's Arms Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing