We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Melrose Abbey

Melrose Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.88*
and up
Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A magnificent ruin on a grand scale with lavishly decorated masonry. The abbey was the burial place of Robert the Bruce's heart, now marked with a commemorative carved stone plaque within the grounds. Includes a museum housing a display of artefacts found within the abbey. Children's trail available.
Port Huron, MI USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went in mid December, the lady at the ticket office (Val) pleasently chatted with us for a few minutes, and when I mentioned what clan my family is decendent from, she spent the time while we were walking around to print out and get directions to a couple locations pertanent to our clan! Talk about going above and beyond! We listened to the free audio guides of the Abbey, but if I were to go again I probably also would buy the inexpensive (3.50) guide book which I find easier to follow and has greater detail and pictures and descriptions of what it probably looked like in its heyday. Well worth the time to see!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    231
    44
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
912 reviews
436 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Beautiful ruin, despite the cold!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stopped here on a snowy December morning. The staff in the ticket office were very knowledgeable and helpful and there are audio guides available if required.
The abbey is on a large site with a separate museum that includes finds from the nearby Roman fort. The quality of the carvings and stonework is very impressive and next time I visit hopefully it'll be warm and dry so I can spend longer!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We attempted to see all four of the Border Abbeys, but we got a later start that day than we would have liked, so we only made it to three: Melrose, Jedburgh and Dryburgh. Of the three, my favorite would have to be Melrose.
The first abbey at Melrose was built in the 1100's and, like the other border abbeys, was destroyed and rebuilt several times during the wars between Scotland and England. Melrose is built of beautiful rose-colored stone and has an amazing amount of surviving carvings and sculptures. This place is absolutely gorgeous and we spent an hour or more here while I took photos of many of the carvings. There is even a figure of a bagpipe-playing pig! :) The heart of Robert the Bruce is buried here, too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank calsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating and Attractive Abbey Ruin”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Worth a visit as is the town.

The abbey has an interesting history with a connection to medieval Scottish kings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BathBathBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Melrose Abbey is right in the town of Melrose, and well worth a 2-3 hour visit. The audio guide is great, and highly recommended. Such a beautiful place and an atmospheric ruin.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingAuntA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melrose Abbey also viewed

Melrose, Scottish Borders
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 
St. Boswells, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Melrose Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing