We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Christmas & New Year at Orchard cottage-Sledging, then back to a real flame fire.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Christmas & New Year at Orchard cottage-Sledging, then back to a real flame fire.
Wonderful open social living area looking towards the patio. Free unrestricted wi fi available. Orchard cottage, with views from the patio seating to the Eildon hills beyond.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Christmas & New Year at Orchard cottage-Sledging, then back to a real flame fire.
Wonderful open social living area looking towards the patio. Free unrestricted wi fi available.
Orchard cottage, with views from the patio seating to the Eildon hills beyond.
Orchard Cottage summer time. Walk to the station 15 mins away & catch the  train for Edinburgh.
Space to enjoy-what ever the weather.Large choice of Dvds, books and games.
Looking over the breakfast bar through to the modern kitchen.
Glass dining table with seating for up to 8. Splash Led blue lights in background.
South facing decked patio area with bbq & blue decking lights.
Old mill coffee table, infront of the Scandanavian glass fire.
The Master bedroom upstairs , with a walk in wardrobe.
Second ground floor bedroom with fitted wardrobes and bathroom opposite.
Secluded Seating to catch the evening sun at the front of the cottage
The Eildon hills & local walks from Orchard cottage.Maps and walking routes in the help pack.
Seating in the walled nature garden next to the cottage.
Melrose Abbey where Robert The Bruce, King of Scotlands heart lies--.Flood lit at night
The new Borders railway to Edinburgh.Walk to the station from the cottage & book the steam train !
Melrose main street, with Burts Hotel alongside the Trimontium Roman museum.
Salmon fishing boats by Mertoun Bridge over the river Tweed.
Darnick Tower (1425 - peel tower)- your next door neighbour.
A great day out, fishing for salmon or seatrout.
The Scottish Borders at dawn- or watch the sunset over Scotts view
The Eildon hills from Sir Walter Scotts favourite view point.
Melrose Rugby Club, the home of rugby sevens.
Leaderfoot viaduct by Roman Trimontium Melrose
Shady nooks and crannies around the cottage
The Eildon hills rising through the morning mist.
Cheeky Goldfinch on the cottage bird table.
The windswept Eildon hills with the heather in full bloom.
Fireworks and celebrations  in the Square at New Year
Lochs to visit in the stunning Borders countryside.
Things to see on the way to the river !
Scottish Border sunsets over the Lochs
Melrose is a lovely place to spend the day.
Take the stairs to the top of  Melrose Abbey
Edinburgh Tattoo-- 57 minutes away by Train
Ash & Mylo enjoying their snowy walk up the Eildons .
Scotlands first Knight Sir William Wallace.
The Wallace Monument only 4 miles from the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Melrose, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
janey d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed March 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Extremely well appointed cottage within walking distance of the lovely town of Melrose. The facilities at the cottage are superb -modern, high quality, great taste throughout! The ‘Beast from the East’ nearly put pay to our visit but Mike was extremely helpful in rearranging the dates. The cottage is so warm and welcoming. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This isn't just a holiday house...its a holiday HOME :-)”
Reviewed January 14, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely house, very clean and modern but cosy too. The hosts gave us a lovely welcome pack to start off our stay, nothing was too much trouble for them which was so nice, perfect hosts.

The cottage is stunning, it had everything we needed and more and is certainly one of the nicest we have stayed in.

Walking into the cottage and seeing the gorgeous Christmas tree and decorations that the owners had put up was just so lovely; coming all the way from Australia to have a Scottish Christmas this made it extra special.

We will be back and next time we'll book for all of our stay. We will miss staying here….this isn’t just a holiday house, it’s a HOME ☺

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issi0ne
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous property- best equipped holiday home we have booked with very generous welcome pack.”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just spent a week at Orchard Cottage - probably the best holiday rental home we've booked.

The photos don't do this property justice, immaculately clean and definitely has the "WOW" factor! Loved the open plan layout and fantastic statement gas fire!

Thoroughly enjoyed meeting the owners, Mike and Pat and their dogs - Milo & Ash - we left Melrose after a great week having made new friends.

Thanks again for the welcome pack - definitely the best we've yet and if returning to Melrose, Orchard Cottage will be our first choice again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler6...
1 review
“Excelant”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Apart from getting and out of the shower - my husband is a big chap. The outside lighting on the steps is temperamental

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
We’re so glad that you had an excellent holiday in Orchard Cottage. Thank you for letting us know that the outside lights were temperamental - we have asked an electrician to come out and check them this week. Providing a larger aperture for the shower may take more time, as the cottage is fairly well booked, and we never like to disrupt guests during their stay. However, when we have an opportunity between lets, we will purchase and fit bifold doors in the downstairs shower to make your next stay more enjoyable. Best wishes Pat & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandMa...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable stay in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Darnick is adjacent to Melrose which has many excellent coffee shops and hotels. There are footpaths to walk and cycle and the lovely River Tweed. Melrose Abbey and Abbotsford House are very close to visit and there are many other interesting sights and viewpoints.The countryside is stunning but Edinburgh is only a train ride away. Perfect base for a holiday in the Scottish Borders.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexLulu1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

An outstanding home in a beautiful setting. The house has everything needed for a self catering stay. All cooking and cleaning equipment provided, washing machine (with detergent) tumble dryer, dishwasher etc. Tea/coffee, salt/pepper and some everyday condiments are provided too, as well as a very generous welcome pack.
We stayed with our two young children and they were entertained with the toy box and selection of DVDs in the living room, as well as pottering about in the garden.
The owner came round to check everything was ok and to make sure we had everything we needed.
We would love to return and stay longer next time. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesf1...
Cumnock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent location and facilities. Very good welcome pack and friendly pleasant owners.
We had a lovely family get together. Visited Abbotsford Estate,Traquer,climbed one of the Eildons in Gale force winds and travelled on train to Edinburgh where we had lunch in The Annotated Rose Street.
Orchard Cottage is certainly on our shortlist to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing