We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked inviting from the street but accommodation disappointing”
Review of Burt's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burt's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Having visited Melrose in the past I have noted the attractive-looking Burt's Hotel and thought I would give it a try. I had hoped for interesting, comfortable accommodation but the room I was allocated - 17 - was a big disappointment. A smallish characterless room with a tiny shower room en suite - clean and somewhere to lay the head but not a place one would want to linger. Things would have been better had there been a pleasant view from the window but no, the outlook was entirely blocked by the roof of the dining room below. A view of the car park would have been wonderful in comparison. I don't blame the owners for the rain but the poorly maintained gutter outside dripped noisily all night long. No one asked whether I had enjoyed my stay - I suspect they knew what the answer might be. Maybe other rooms are better but I was not impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 323 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

I felt some of the staff in particular the older members of staff were rather curt and lacked the personal touch, the younger staff seemed much friendlier.

Room was small, and in need of an upgrade altough clean.

Food was nice but if staying there for more than a couple of nights it became monotonous, and there was no allowing for an adaptation to the menu, which i was told.

The wifi what can i say - did not work the whole stay which was most annoying!

overall not very impressed

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We found Burts, easy to find, very friendly and helpful.The staff were willing to put themselves out to help us in any way they could. The food was excellent and the service good. It has the best selection of whiskey's I've come across. It maybe a little old fashioned in style, but thats part of what makes is so much better than these new style hotels. The rooms were plenty big enough and spotless, clean as a whistle. Melrose suffers from a lack of pubs, but thats no bad thing, the hotel bar become busy in the evenings. But that give a nice friendly atmosphere to the place and the open fire is a bonus. It's just the place for those of us who are easy going and out for fun, not business.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndnjnkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My partner and I recently stayed Sunday and Monday nights in Burts Hotel at ₤131 per night B&B for a double room. We live about a hundred miles north of Melrose and were taking a couple of days autumn break to cycle in this lovely area which we know quite well.

We felt the B&B rate was pricey. We ate in the bar where the food was excellant and which was very busy both nights indicating that business is good, so why can some investment not be put into refurbishment? Looking at previous reviews this seems to have been an issue for some years.

Breakfasted day 1 at 8.30 a.m. We sat at the window of the large dining room (needs redecorating) on a bright and lovely day. Excellent breakfast and service.

Day 2, breakfasted at 9.00 am. The only table available for 2 which was not set for lunch was as far away from the window as possible, next to service area, kitchen and staff cloakroom. Hardly a relaxing pleasant spot to start the day. Was this the Naughty Table? Staff were more concerned with clearing breakfast, setting up for lunch, going home. Why is this table deemed suitable? It appeared that only about 8 tables in total were used for breakfast, the others remained set for lunch/dinner, so why make guests sit as far as possible from natural light in a dark, busy, utility area? Staff and management should think - put themselves in the customers’ place. This experience upset the whole day and in fact coloured our stay at the hotel. We expressed our feelings on departure but note we have not received any communication from the management despite being told they would be informed.

Add to this 2 business men arrived at 9.45 a.m to be told kitchen closed, no catering whatsoever available in the hotel, bar opens at 12 p.m! Scottish hospitality takes a hit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2010

Thank you for your constructive criticism. I am delighted to say that we have now refurbished 8 Bedroom and bathrooms. We are very pleased with the results and have had some good positive feedback. Points taken Re Breakfast etc. As usual, I am the last person to hear about your criticisms. If and when you do decide to re-visit, ask for rooms 3 or 4 as a Double or 6 or 8.
NH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

As a family we have been going to Burts for about 25 years & always stay about 4 nights in the old days we used to stay on Dinner Bed & Breakfast rates but as we have all got older the meals in the Restaurant became too much so we use the Bar for evening meals.
I cannot believe some of the reviews I have read, we always find the Henderson Family very friendly & on numerous occasions I have asked for meals that were not on the menu & have always been accommodated.
Criticism's the bedrooms are a bit dated & could do with updating & although the cooked Breakfasts as wonderfull the the fruit provided for breakfast could be expanded & there are not always Breakfast Rolls provided

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Other reviews noted. Melrose is with Kelso the smartest of Border towns but do not expect nightlife. This is a very comfortable small town hotel if a little pricy. I can speak only of restaurant food which is excellent if perhaps not a bargain.Beer and wine good. if, and I hope when you go remember that you are in the Borders and look to there culture.Smile and you have friends . Be dour and this will b the response. Go without prejudice and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying one night in this lovely friendly hotel. It was obvious that it is being run by a family who are relaxed and professional. Standard was fantastic in every way, the restaurant was a delight and the food superb. Unfortunately we could only stay for just one night but it is somewhere we will return to some day. The village of Melrose is picturesque and beautifully cared for. Great cafes and interesting shops.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autumngirlCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
277 reviews
1 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
159 reviews
3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
982 reviews
0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burt's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burt's Hotel

Address: Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: $114 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burt's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burt's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burts Hotel Melrose
Burt's Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing