We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burt's Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Station Hotel(Melrose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Kingsknowes Hotel(Galashiels)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel(St. Boswells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitmuir Hall(Selkirk)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveler rating
181
93
34
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
93
34
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant menubooked a tableborder townsuperb foodstaff were friendly and efficientsunday lunchlooking forward to our next visittraditional hotelduckcomfortable roomsfamily runopen firelovely townoff street parkingbar foodwarm welcomescottish borders
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 333 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I like Burts hotel, I've stayed before and will stay again.

Receptionist was excellent on this occasion, arranging a packed lunch in lieu of breakfast, super helpful with local info and general positive demeanor.

Room was comfortable but starting to look dated, clean and functional but a bit 1970's.

There are two dining options, a lively bar and a formal restaurant- I chose the latter since the menu had the baked salmon and the bar didn't. The Maitre de role was filled by the owner (I assume) who was accommodating and the waitress was an experienced hand who I've met before. An efficient and professional service followed although they do need to be careful not to confuse formal with surly.

Sadly the three star rating is due to the aforementioned salmon being significantly over cooked; perfectly edible but not moist and succulent as it should be. A bit harsh but in this part of the world it's unforgivable.

Will definitely return and I'm sure this is a one off.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiswickNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our party of 8 stayed here at the beginning of September and we had a fabulous time from the moment we arrived. Service at check-in was quick and efficient, and we were offered assistance with the bags due to one of our party being lame (entirely his own fault!). We ate in the restaurant and whilst the food isn't cheap, you certainly get what you pay for as the portions were just right and the quality of the cooking was outstanding. Our waitress was the epitome of no-fuss efficiency and as a really nice touch we were able to take our desserts and drinks up to the resident's lounge where we spent a happy few hours, hopefully not upsetting the other guests with our laughter.
Our room was comfortable and warm, as were the other rooms in our party, albeit we spent relatively little time in there compared to the restaurant, lounge and walking around the lovely town itself. On that, the Melrose we saw this weekend was a credit to the community who clearly take great pride in presenting a very attractive setting for visitors.
Waking to a glorious late summer morning certainly helped, however the breakfast was equally as delicious as the previous night's dinner and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts as we faffed about asking for a variety of 'extras' off the menu.
In summary I would certainly recommend this excellent hotel to anyone thinking of a day or two in Melrose and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here for one night and found I to be fine providing you are spending a lot of time in your room as mine was not that big. It was so small that there was no room in the toilet for the sink which made the room seem even smaller. That aside it was comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. A full cooked Scottish breakfast including Stornoway black pudding which was delicious. It was served in a lovely room and was cooked to order rather than being buffet style which made it even better, especially when coupled with really good service. Overall not a bad hotel and in a great location.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank peter1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

First visit to burts today for a spot of lunch , chargrilled Cajun chicken sandwich was excellent ,Pauline had steak sandwich which he also enjoyed. Staff where friendly and served us quickly and drink prices where on par with other hotels in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for four nights and once again found the staff helpful and welcoming. The food was terrific, even though head chef was on days off. The restaurant well deserves its two AA rosettes. You are very unlucky if you experience poor service. Whole of our stay was delightful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meganshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews