We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burt's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Station Hotel(Melrose)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel(St. Boswells)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Selkirk)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
182
93
34
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
93
34
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant menubooked a tableborder townsuperb foodstaff were friendly and efficientsunday lunchlooking forward to our next visittraditional hotelduckcomfortable roomsfamily runopen firelovely townoff street parkingbar foodwarm welcomescottish borders
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 334 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This establishment sets the bar for family-run hotels in Scotland. Members of my own family have been staying here on and off for almost forty years and the standards have been scrupulously maintained in all that time. You are unlikely to get any bad surprises here. It maybe more expensive than some of the hotels in the town but you definitely get what you pay for in terms of quality and traditional ambience. If you are ever visiting the Borders, I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been done very recently and are of a particulary high standard but all rooms are of a good standard.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Drove down to the Borders for the day with my Mum and thought we'd stop off for a bit of lunch. Decided after looking at the menus of the various hotels in Market Square that we'd go to Burt's. We got in to the restaurant at 13:55 - 5 minutes before they stopped serving lunch but they did not make us feel rushed into choosing what we wanted. Mum went for the soup and I decided on soup and a sandwich. Holy moley the portions are massive! The pea and ham soup was the best I've ever tasted. It has big chunks of flakey ham that just melted in the mouth just like your granny used to make. The Brie, bacon and rocket toasted sandwich I ordered was amazing - either of these on their own really would've been enough but they tasted sooooo good, I had to finish everything. They also brought the loveliest bread to the table for the soup. A first I thought it was just plain thin slices of baguette but there was a slight garlic crust on it. Words cannot describe how good this bread was! The staff were lovely - attentive, friendly, can't fault them at all. Excellent value for money as well. The only thing I could comment on is that the loos looked a bit dated but hey, let's just call them vintage.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent one night before starting 4 day walk to Holy Isle.
Melrose is a lovely small town with stunning scenery. Hotel is beautifully furnished , single room was small but lovely and staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly ( I was late arriving and they called me to see if I would like some food when I arrived)
Expensive for the area but reflects the quality of the hotel. Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

very friendly very Scottish. Stayed while doing a long distance bike ride and food was great. Lovely breakfast and friendly staff. Our room had no view however but was warm and cosy. Restraunt was heaving but they found us a table no probs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilkleyrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well what can we say we where staying for a long weekend in the area. And found this little gem online so booked a table. When we arrived at burts in the beautiful town Melrose we where greeted by a lovely friendly lady who showed us to our seat lovely relaxed place. We all had the roast beef it was beautiful cooked beatifully. 5 stars for food service and friendly faces. Also loved the touch to the tea tasty villana fudge. Thank you for a enjoyable lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphy-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. Thanks NH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews