We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have been to the Townhouse for lunch with friends a couple of times in the last couple of weeks. Both times the welcome has been very friendly and welcoming.

The food has been of a high standard and served quickly and professionally. The portions are generous and the overall experience was very pleasant.

I would recommend the Townhouse and it's sister hotel The Burts highly.



The portions are generous

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 278 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Came here and had a lovely 2 course meal recently with family. Good was good and served efficiently for a reasonable price. It was fairly quiet but keep up the good work and it will soon be busier! Keep it up & I will be back again in the future hopefully

Stayed: January 2014
Thank DerwentwaterGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

As one previous reviewer said nothing to fault and everything to praise. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely one night stay here.We choose a superior room No 5 and were very pleased with the space and comfort, it was set at the perfect temperature for us - not too hot. I loved the bold interior design. The bathroom has lovely underfloor heating. Although the hotel is in the centre of the town we were not disturbed in any way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our second stay at the Townhouse for a Christmas break. Rooms were clean and well appointed and staff very helpful throughout the stay .Our evening meal in the function room was excellent and the Full "Scottish Breakfast" proved to be even better. Recommend this hotel if you are in the borders . Will be back guys thanks .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We received a warm welcome, were given a very comfortable and spotlessly clean room, and had an excellent breakfast, most elegant dished up. The hotel also gave us an excellent map of the area so we could walk from the door up the Eildon hills and back. Nothing to fault and everything to praise at this charming hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Johnhamwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My brother and his new wife are embarking on their honeymoon on the 21st of December so a pre-25th December family meal was planned. With Melrose selected as a suitable meeting point for everyone we eventually picked The Townhouse, not sure how we settled on it but we were all glad we did as the from the moment we set foot in the building we received first rate service.

The staff were all pleasant and caring but managed to provide this service whilst being invisible.. quite often plates appeared/disappeared without me realising there had been a waitress near me. Not many places achieve this standard of service and manage to maintain a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

The food easily matched the standard of service, unfortunately my memory fails me when it comes to what others in our party of 8 had but my starter of prawn cocktail was lovely and fresh. The main, chefs special roast beef ( i was advised by the waitress that this would be served medium/rare ), was out of this world. I'm not exaggerating when i say this was one of the best roast beef dishes i've eaten. Beautifully cooked meat, wonderful rich gravy and fresh veg and tatties. And, mercifully, my plate was not crammed to the brim. The serving was just right, a feeling echoed by all those who opted for the beef, and, indeed all mains.

The puddings, which I didn't try, all looked fantastic and the general silence around the table during this course suggested that they were all being appreciated a fact confirmed once the plates had been cleared.

All in all a bit of a find, my brother and his wife, who live in Kelso, are already planning their next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesdevil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a family run hotel in the quiet village of Melrose. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff are excellent! All of them try their best always to make their guests feel at home.
The hotel has an exquisite restaurant, which serves the most delicious breakfast.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SOLI1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
327 reviews
1 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melrose
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
162 reviews
10.2 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Address: 3 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PQ, Scotland (Formerly Millars Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: $121 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Melrose
The Townhouse Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing