We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

have just returned from a 2 nite stay.This hotel is worth everything, the staff the bedroom the facilities and ofcourse breakfast all of which i have to say were 5*.Having been brought up in melrose i decided to return and see family and places of interest, so glad i chose this hotel, a huge thankyou to you all will definately be returning .

Room Tip: room 7 standard double room facing the market square very well furnished, bath with shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 276 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Melrose, staying on Fri and Sat nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary, having had the location and hotel recommended by relatives.

Our room (6) was a standard double, reasonably sized, facing the market square, smartly decorated in a 'contemporary style', with en-suite bathroom containing a large shower, sink and toilet. There was a little street noise, but nothing too intrusive; however even my wife found the temperature on the first night to be uncomfortably warm with the windows open and no obvious heat source. After raising this at reception the following morning, we were willingly offered another (10, which faced the rear / beer garden), or a fan - our choice!. This second room suited us much better, and had the best shower I have ever experienced anywhere on our travels.

All the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. There was a wedding reception in the hotel in the afternoon on Sat, which remained self-contained in the function room(s) towards the rear. A local rugby match also brought in some additional dinner and house guests.

We ate our evening meals and breakfasts in the Brasserie, where the food was very good with a sensible selection of wine (neither overpriced). The only very slight niggle was that there seemed to be no local (Scottish / Borders) bottled beers, but maybe that just highlights a personal preference.

Melrose is a small town, hence I was unsurprised to find the on-street parking restricted Mon - Sat within working hours to a 1hr stay, both immediately outside the hotel and further along the main road between the shops. Very slightly farther away, yet still within easy walking distance there are car parks, and thereafter no restriction at all.
By far the easiest option is to make use of the car park of the sister hotel Burts on the opposite side of the road.

Melrose itself is a quaint town, easily circumnavigated on foot taking a leisurely hour. The beautiful surrounding countryside is within 10 mins walk in pretty much any direction; I recommend buying the very helpful local walks guide / pamphlet (about £2) from the tourist information centre, plus pick up a free local map. There are plenty of other places to eat, though we only sampled one tea shop and the Woollen Mill in the end.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCapta1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

FC and I spent three nights here in September in one of the three “superior” rooms.

The room itself was very clean and well decorated, loved the bathroom with separate shower, lots of hot water whenever needed.

The staff were very attentive and friendly at all times.

The breakfasts were excellent, no faults there at all, plenty of good food served piping hot and a wide range was on offer.

We ate in the Burt’s hotel just across the road on two of the nights, it’s the sister hotel to the Townhouse.
Reasoning for eating there was just that FC preferred a less fussy menu.
We ate in the Townhouse on our last night and the food was great, top marks there.

Couple of small niggles, parking is across the road in Burt’s car park, no problem with that but it would have been nice to be pre-advised that this was the case.
Parking outside the hotel is at a premium as it’s a one-way street which meant that we had to put the car into the municipal car park before going to the Townhouse.

The other small niggle would be the view from our room, which basically overlooked a somewhat barren beer garden, it spoiled what was an otherwise lovely room (room 1).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCandFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A lovely en-suite bedroom combined with excellent evening meals and breakfast, our return to The Townhouse did not disappoint and maintained the previous high standard. Parking on the roadway is a slight disadvatage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolkbarn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Townhouse was a comfortable hotel. Our room was furnished with an attractive colour scheme and looked on to the Market Square. The bed was big and comfy but the soundproofing could be better - my husband was woken up by the person in the next room flushing the loo! I guess that is always going to be an issue when staying in a small hotel, particularly one that is an old building with character.

The bistro was busy which is a good sign and we enjoyed our dinner. Breakfast was also fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighJ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for one night in this lovely small hotel in the heart of Melrose.
From the top class and extremely friendly service, to the beautiful contemporary room, to the lovely food at dinner and breakfast...this is everything a hotel should be.
Effortless class, and we will be certain to return.

Room Tip: We were upgraded on arrival, but I'm sure all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

my wife and i had a great stay in the townhouse. the welcome was warm and the room (5) was great. very big, comfy bed. tea/coffee etc. nice view of the town square. we had dinner in there and the food and service was excellent. breafast is unmissable, i had the full scottish on both occasions and can honestly say its as good a brekky as i've had. there isnt really a bar there but burts hotel opposite which has the same owners has a good bar and its a short stumble back! melrose tself is a lovely place, very small and mostly antique shops but well worth a visit. would deffo stay in the townhouse if in the borders again.

Room Tip: room 5 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thickneck17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
158 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
977 reviews
0.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Address: 3 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PQ, Scotland (Formerly Millars Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: $105 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Melrose
The Townhouse Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing