We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tweed Rig”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Views over the famous Eildon Hills
Floor plan
Dining table (seats 14) and living area
Living area: Samsung 51” Plasma TV. Full Sky package. DVD player
Dining table seats 14. High chairs available.
Living area and open plan kitchen
Dining table seats 14 and open living area
Living area with access to balcony
Living area
Kitchen
High chairs available for the dining table to accommodate the little ones.
Open plan kitchen.
Living area
Master bedroom: kingsize bed. Full ensuite. Closet room. View over Eildon Hills
Master bedroom with views over Eildon Hills. Additional Travel cot available
Master bedroom. Full ensuite: Bath, Shower and WC
Closet room with cot
Double bedroom (1): kingsize bed (this bedroom is adjacent to the main bathroom. Bath, Shower & WC)
Main bathroom. Full Ensuite: Bath, Shower & WC)
Main bathroom. Full Ensuite: Bath, Shower & WC)
Double bedroom (2): double bed. Ensuite shower & WC
Twin bedroom: two single beds. Ensuite shower & WC
Twin bedroom: Ensuite shower & WC
Family room: double sofa bed & 2 single beds. Ensuite shower & WC. PS2 with selection  games/movies
Family room: Ensuite shower & WC.
Gallery bedroom: two bunk beds suitable for adults
Utility room
Tweed Rig has a woodland garden
Table tennis located down in garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Melrose, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah00...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tweed Rig”
Reviewed November 26, 2018 for a stay in November 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of eight who were having our annual catch up. We wanted somewhere which had a large dining and living area as well as plenty of bedrooms with an en suite bathrooms. Tweed Rig ticked all the boxes. It's a lovely house and is very well kitted out.

It's also very conveniently situated with two excellent restaurants in the village, and easy access to Melrose and Abbotsford.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lny229
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed October 15, 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from 2 nights staying at Tweed Rig. I arranged a hen do for 13 of us here and the house was absolutely perfect. Honestly can't fault it for what we needed! Very clean, comfy beds, plenty of good showers, kitchen well equipped, great speakers and very private!
Unfortunately it poured with rain all weekend so didn't get to take advantage of the great outdoor space or explore the village but the house was warm and the main room is perfect for a big group socialising. It was just a short taxi for us into Gala for a meal.
I really appreciated that we were able to arrange to leave at our own pace on the Sunday morning rather than an early check out, it made a huge difference to the weekend overall!
The house exceeded everyone's expectations and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or go back for another similar gathering! Thanks Jean and Debbie!

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn S
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exactly what we expected”
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful home with commanding views. Internal layout perfect for gatherings of 10-14. We had 14 adults for dinner, 10 of whom stayed comfortably in the house overnight...plus 2 babies! The huge, comfy sofa and large dining table were ideal. Kitchen fully equipped. Owner popped over quickly when we asked for more binbags. Lots of walks nearby and of course, the beautiful Tweed! I think mattresses should be renewed but otherwise highly recommend this property, thank you for a wonderful stay for my Dad’s 70th!

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladysusan...
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal house in ideal location”
Reviewed July 24, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great location for an old friends get-together. The Eildon Hills and the Borders Abbey Way are good for walkers; several interesting houses (Abbotsford, Mellerstain) and abbeys within easy reach. Melrose is a delightful small town with a good Coop and some attractive small shops. The walk from Gattonside into the town (about 20 /25 minutes) is a pleasure in itself.
The house is well equipped, and the main room is ideal for socialising, round the table, on the sofas or out on the balcony with a wonderful view to the Eildon Hills.
Communication with the owner was clear and prompt. Recommended!

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catprend
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, family friendly and well maintained property”
Reviewed July 13, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Tweed Rig was perfect for a long weekend away for a family celebration. The space available was great with a lovely open plan kitchen, large dining table and large lounge space too, great for socialising altogether. The balcony also meant we could have several barbecues there and retreat into the house when the heavens opened every now and then! We had a few small children in our group too and they loved the space.

The kitchen especially is very well maintained with everything we could possibly need for all our meals and cooking requirements. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all great and we were able to make use of all the space for our large party of people.

Plenty to do in the local area with Melrose Abbey a short walk away and several eateries close by too. We had a great weekend -thanks to Jean too for very helpful communication in the run up to our visit.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apc_11
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views and property”
Reviewed June 30, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Ideal home from home for large parties. Don't be put off by the access road or steep hill - it's worth it! Everything we needed and more was provided. The view is stunning as seen in the photo from the master bedroom below. Nearby restaurants are excellent and the surrounding villages beautiful. Take the opportunity to trek with alpacas near Kelso - lovely animals and owner and very peaceful. Would recommend to families, large groups and walkers.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazaroon
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were initially booked to go to Tweed rig in March - then it snowed and snowed and snowed and, well, you know the rest.

Debi and Jean - who had been superb in keeping in touch with all the necessary details before the trip - were quick to help us rearrange at no extra cost, just a complete transfer of dates and personnel. Luckily, with such a load of us going, we could all attend this alternative weekend.

So - there were 12 of us in total, aged from nine - 80 years-old. My mum is in a chair and, again, Debi and Jean were so careful and helpful with our needs and requirements, offering a ramp to be put in place for my mum's wheelchair. Mum's bedroom was on the same floor as two other bedrooms AND sitting room, dining room and kitchen.

I cannot begin to put into writing how awesome this house is - well, it felt like a home! It was so well equipped with more than enough sleeping space - wee sister, who came to be surprised for her 50th birthday had nothing less than a suite on the top floor with a massive ensuite bathroom. The middle floor is, for sure the hub. The middle floor has three bedrooms along with the living space which is just WOW! A huge table where 12 of us could eat and play games, easily. The living room was exceptional too, no one had to stand, or perch on the arm of the chair or on the floor. Down stairs we had a family room, also ensuite, but with a massive utility room too.

Any pictures you see of the house look incredible, but just cannot begin to do this place justice. You have to see it to believe it.

The surrounding area was wonderful too. Some of the family made great use of the amazing hills and countryside, others of the smashing coffee and cake in Melrose and others of the Foozball and table tennis in the house.

It is a weekend we will all cherish and remember so warmly and fondly. And we are so grateful to The Tweed Rig crew for helping to make this trip so memorable.

We WILL return

Carol

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing