We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Reviewed February 27, 2014

call in here as it was raining and the first place we came to. menu was limited. went for the roast pork loin. pork was tasteless, cabbage was day befores reheated, turnip was nice but we literally got a tablespoon full on the plate but the yorkshire pud was delicious. For the starter we had homemade leek and potato soup this however was excellent. the building itself was a bit drab glad i wasn't stopping here. if we had more time i would left and gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 458 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the George and Abbotsford for 3 nights, 14 to 17 February with an Urquharts tour.

On our arrival we found the room quite cold, however we turned on the radiator and were soon very comfortable, The room was freshly decorated, very clean and had a generous supply of tea and coffee making materials. The bed was crisp and fresh. The en-suite toilet/shower was perfectly adequate and, again, very clean.

We had three dinners each over our stay, all from short but imaginative menus, of very good quality and generous portions, and beautifully served by quick, polite servers. Our three breakfasts were from a hot buffet containing all the traditional favourites, You could eat as much as you could possibly want.

There was entertainment, on the Friday and Saturday nights, which we enjoyed, and we found the atmosphere in the bar very cheery and friendly.

Our week-end was a great success and we intend to return before too long. We really can recommend the George and Abbotsford, they certainly impressed us, It is obvious that the management have put a lot of effort into the running of the hotel and I think that the service given in what is, after all, a 2 star hotel is really excellent. Douglas H

Room Tip: Our room, number 12, faced the front of the building looking over the main street. However Melrose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have just returned home after spending the week-end at this hotel and I cannot praise the owners and staff enough.The food was excellent throughout as was the service.The staff were all very friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble to all of them,we were made very welcome from the first contact to the last.This is a very old and well established Hotel but full of old world character.This Holiday weekend was arranged through David Urquhart Travel and I for one thank them for choosing this hotel for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 342Robmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had a bar supper in their restaurant last week,great after visiting friends in the area.the location in the small borders town is great and this place could be really good but that's about.it .Food was just ok .The Bar noise at times was a bit off-putting but i suppose it added to the zero atmosphere in the "Restaurant" I don't think we would visit again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Having stayed on a David Urquhart three night coach tour we found the staff very friendly, caring and efficient lead from the front by committed new proprietors who were making every effort to improve and update the hotels facilities.
The rooms were warm, comfortable and clean with all appropriate facilities but due due to fresh paintwork in our room 8 the window would not open.
Tasty home cooked food was served for Breakfast and Dinner with Dinner Menu choice being made at breakfast. The food was fresh, hot and exceeded expectations, ensuring clean plates and satisfied looks on the faces of the 7 members of our group. The Dinner Menu during our stay included such choices as Smoked Haddock Fish Pie, Aberdeen Angus Meatballs and Pasta, Goats Cheese Tart, Salmon Fish Cakes, and Haggis including the option of a Vegetarian Haggis on Burns Night.
The Burns Night Dinner on the 25 January 2014 and entertainment were also excellent.
We will definitely return and wish the proprietors and staff every success in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 but others of our party had rooms 5 & 6 which were nicer than ours but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingman2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

havin stayed at the george and abbbotsford a few weeks back with a coach tour i was disgusted at the poor managment skills andrea holds she is very rude and kept persisting we write nice comments on here and according to other members of staff who might i add are polite but slow at dealing with a request she is constantly asking coaches to do it well i am sorry i will not be returning on a tour to this hotel there are many lovely hotels to be visiting in the scottish borders. the rooms are freezing sometimes even the sheets are covered in stains and smells damp and musty in the rooms!!! the food comes out cold when it is getting served and it is always rushed of you while you are still chewing your last mouthful and even at that it tasted microwaved and slightly off at that. after speaking to others on our return most agreed that stuart and andrea have took on far much what they can handle and rather than speaking down at people you really need some social and hospitality skills digusted and i will be contacting david urquhart to complain and make sure nobody else has this problem. absolutly disgusted

Room Tip: bring water bottles or a extra duvet for warmth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katerine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andria g, Guest Relations Manager at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We have lots of happy visitors that stay at the G & A l wish you would have said something at the time then we may have helped you ,if you was having problems with your heating you should have told us as the rooms are controlled by yourself so you can have then any temp you require .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Disappointing to have had to argue the toss about the quality of a lamb-burger. I would have been comfortable walking away with “honours” even, but was requested to pay for the chips consumed from the meal returned. Overview: Surprised.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Cust0mer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
322 reviews
20.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range: $74 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing