We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George & Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Much potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I gather that this hotel has been recently taken over by new owners and it has the potential to be a great place but the noise insulation in the rooms isn't great and it sounded like I had a group of removal men practicing next door. The new owners were working on the decor but the 1970s radio alarm was a strange touch. My room didn't have wifi but I was able to get a signal in the lounge. On the plus side the food and the breakfast were delicious, the room was nice and warm and the location was great.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the Eildons which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andria g, Owner at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Yes we are working on the hotel it is 300 year old and the walls we can not help noice sorry our wifi is not good in all the rooms as we are haveing problems with this hope we can sort but you can get wifi down stairs hope you stay again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    109
    63
    48
    88
See reviews for
65
176
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

During a recent business trip to Melrose we stayed at the George and Abbotsford hotel for 5 nights.

The hotel has a quint old world quality feel to it.

The room we were in was light and airy and the bed comfortable and plenty of good quality towels. It was a refreshing change to have really good quality sheets on the bed.

The full English breakfast was all that you would want.

The staff were friendly, efficient and a great sense of humour.

Meals that we had in the evening were varied, well cooked, flavoursome and very reasonably priced. The specials were defiantly worth a look.

It made a refreshing change to find a hotel that has such a strong emphasis on locally sourced, quality, home cooked food and at a reasonable price.

We recommend to you try the chocolate and ginger ice cream. Wish I could have taken some home with us.

Large private car park at the rear of the hotel was really handy.

The current owners have only recently taken over the hotel, a couple of months ago, and are carrying out various renovation works. The main thing for us was that the new owners really care about what they are doing.

We really wish the new owner all the very best for the future. In our opinion so far, they are doing everything just right and we would certainly love to stay with you again.

Would we recommend the George and Abbotsford hotel? I think that we just have.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16. No problems at all. Bed very comfortable. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter&Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have never had such an accomadating place to stay, the couple who own the hotel are so welcoming and freindly. They are working hard to redecorate and modernise and even this was being done discreetly so,s not to disturb guests, The food was very good and excellent portions given. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the borders area. Thank you Ann-marie and Stuart for myself and my sisters stay,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andria g, Owner at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
thanks for your review hope to see you again andria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I would encourage anyone looking for a lovely friendly hotel to stay in. The couple who run this family hotel are so accommodating and will help you feel at home .The food and service my sister Eleanor and I received during our stay on the 4th & 5th of March was beyond any treatment I have had in any other Hotel.Eleanor and Myself would like to thank them for the most pleasurably stay we had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me and my husband had a lovely wedding at the G&A. The venue was fantastic and the bridal suit was beautiful. I was welcomed by the owners and staff with no complains. Our Wedding was great success story fo many year to come. Thanks to the G&A.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Andria and her husband Stewart made my wedding very special. From arrangements to the final day of the wedding everything was just fantastic. I was listened to and everything was as I wanted it to be. The warmth; caring and hospitality was well coming and we had a lovely time.
I definitely will recommend the g&a to any one for any activity as well as just casual visit for a drink or two and food too. Well done the G&A you are fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcellentWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were staying at the caravan park in Melrose and wanted to watch the Rugby (England v Scotland) and wanted to take our dogs with us for 'a pint'! The new owners were very warm and welcoming to us and our pooches, as were the locals who were also watching the match. The range of draught beers and ciders were reasonably priced then at half time out came the 'stovies'. Im sure with local and tourist support the owners will soon turn this dated hotel around. The welcome sold it to us Thanks to the owners and good luck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sushutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Property: George & Abbotsford Hotel
Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing