We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunfermline House B&B
Ranked #2 of 12 Melrose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Third visit to Dunfermline House and once again came away extremely happy. Lovely place to stay and owners are the most homely people. Nothing is a problem to the and they are so friendly and informative. Room lovely and clean, fantastic is the only way to describe it. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: lovely quiet rooms at back overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebuslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Dunfermline House. It really does make it all worthwhile when we get such great feedback, thank you again.
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I have just spent time with welcoming and friendly hosts Alison and Bryan.The house is in such a wonderful location beside Melrose Abbey with unrestricted parking on both sides of the street and the Abbey car park is free of charge overnight. This is such a bonus in this delightful and busy tourist town.Our ensuite room was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, well-filled tea tray and plenty storage space.. What a great shower ! Breakfast menu is extensive ,delicious and served in a very pretty dining room by the Boss. Many eating places are only a step away. and Chapters Bistro in Gattonside is worth a visit if you feel like walking a wee bit .more! Thank you both and we will have no hesitation in recommending your lovely home to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayGee095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. It is a pleasure to have such 'nice guests' staying. I am glad you enjoyed your short stay even though the circumstances were regrettable. Please come again for a wee break from your childminding duties!
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent in every way. The attention to detail is remarkable from the choice of toiletries and hot drinks selection in the room to the variety on offer at breakfast. All sorts of different cooked breakfasts available,but when I asked for a not-on-the-menu boiled egg, Brian's response was simply, 'two?' Altogether too notch.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank debelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dunfermline House. Your kind words were much appreciated, you were very generous in your praise. Please come back again and make sure the eggs are up to standard!
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wish I could say something original but it has all been said before - a fantastic place to stay. An excellent breakfast - loved the fruit salad (and my cooked breakfast), fellow guests were all friendly which made for a very pleasant, relaxed atmosphere in the breakfast room. Alison and Bryan were great hosts with lots of useful suggestions. Can't think of anything that needs changing and am delighted that we changed our dates in order to stay at Dunfermline House.
Melrose is a great location with lots of different walks, plenty of choice for evening refreshment (solid or liquid) and friendly shopkeepers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind words when you reviewed Dunfermline House. You make it easy for us when you are such lovely guests. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and I hope that you are able to return some day.
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights last week, as arranged the previous week with Alison. Even the booking was 'something else' - handled in a manner I never thought I'd experience again..well done!
Dunferline House is a real gem, lovely room, beautiful views, nice little touches. Breakfast, simply outstanding, and a lovely dining room. I had full Scottish, my wife, who never has cooked breakfast..well she did here !
Bryan's dry Scots humour was a bonus, and his likeness to Richard Wilson didn't go unnoticed.
A lovely daughter (whose name we didn't get) with a super smile, and a 'glint' in her eyes completed an excellent trio..and the price was so very reasonable.
The Crown is Melrose itself, a lovely little town with 'proper' shops (no supermarkets !!), wonderfully friendly locals..yes locals..and a Britain in Bloom Gold Award, with a good choise of eating places too. A great base for exploring the beautiful Scottish Borders.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ront38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your very generous review of Dunfermline House. We do try hard to 'get it right' but with a dash of humour and such pleasant guests our job is made much easier. Thank you again. Hope you are able to return sometime.
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great standard of accommodation (even if we DID let you off with the vacuuming, Bryan!). You let us check in early and then gave us freedom and peace and quiet - much appreciated. The breakfast was fantastic and beatifully cooked by Mrs Bryan - served up by 'Jeeves' in his inimitable style. Your local knowledge was invaluable and we have recommended you to everyone we know travelling in or around Melrose. Hope to be back soon, Thanks
Chris & Robert
Milngavie

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legend52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you vey much for your generous review of Dunfermline House (probably just as well not to mention Sybil and Basil!!). Your humour was much appreciated, it is easy to look after such pleasant guests. I hope you will be able to return in the future.
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited Melrose with friends for a walking weekend. Having read previous reviews we booked Dunfermline House and were so pleased that we had.The location could not have been better as it was in the centre of town but in a reasonably quiet spot. The rooms were a decent size and clean. We were in room 2 which was a twin room and our friends were in room 1 next door which was a double room.Both overlooked the pretty garden and were really quiet. There were complimentary toiletries and biscuits which were replenished every day.
The breakfast was excellent and easily exceeded the quality of breakfasts we have been served with in much more expensive establishments. The hosts were friendly and really helpful. We would not hesitate to return and would recommend this lovely B & B to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of Dunfermline House, I am very glad that you enjoyed your break. It does make our job much easier when we have such pleasant guests. It really does make everything worthwhile. Thank you.
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melrose hotels
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fauhope House
Fauhope House
#1 of 1 in Gattonside
270 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clint Lodge
Clint Lodge
#4 of 12 in Melrose
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunfermline House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunfermline House B&B

Address: 3 Buccleuch Street, Melrose TD6 9LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Melrose
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Dunfermline House B&B Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing