We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely home, lovely people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunfermline House B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Melrose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely home, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed with Alison and her lovely husband on the first weekend in August. What a lovely home, and so conveniently located. They are a quiet, very welcoming couple, very helpful in terms of providing information on the local area, where to eat, etc. I gladly recommend them to others visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words - they really are much appreciated. Such pleasant and friendly guests do help, thank you.
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
76
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here before starting the St Cuthberts Way walk. This was the overall best B+B in our 5 days. The hosts are delightful, the breakfast is fantastic and the room was perfect. I have no idea why anyone would complain about noise as this B+B is on a very quiet street. This B+B knocks spots off many fancy, boutique hotels I've stayed in. Superb value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Many many thanks for such a great review , it really does help to know we are getting it right. Thank you.
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at this B&B over the August bank holiday weekend. We were attending a wedding locally and needed a central base.
Melrose is a pretty little village that caters for both locals and tourists alike.
Dumfirlmline House is situated on one of the main streets (one way) and opposite a car park.
The room was comfortable, clean and with many little thoughtful added extras in the bathroom. We had one of the front bedrooms, and, as it was warm, had the window open throughout our stay. However, as it was a busy street we were disturbed by some noise, but not enough to make a fuss about!
Beds very comfortable, nice spacious bathroom.
The hosts, Alison and Bryan are warm and welcoming. The Breakfasts are HUGE.
On our first morning we opted for one of the Breakfast specials, Smoked Salmon and scrambled eggs. On day two we dared to try the full Scottish experience, including Haggis……..hmmmm the jury is still out on this local delicacy !
Bryan even gave us a tune on his Bag Pipes at breakfast and encouraged guests to have a go! Very entertaining at 8.30am!!
Our weekend was spent mainly at the wedding venue, courtesy of Jim the very entertaining taxi driver (provided by Alison ) who gave us tips and ideas of how to catch our very own haggis!
We would definitely consider staying here again if ever we were in the area.
Many thanks
Kate & Rob

Room Tip: Front of house may be a little noisy for very light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dunfermline House. Although Buccleuch Street is not a busy street, the post office sorting office is nearby and can be quite noisy. I am afraid there is nothing we can do about that, though we would love to see them re-locate!. I hope you return and we can offer you a quieter room at the rear of the house overlooking the garden. Thank you again for your comments.
Alison Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

wonderful place to stay. amazing breakfast, easy to find, welcoming host. the best bedroom experience of our trip. a basket in the en-suite had everything you may have forgotten! even asprin, which we didn't need but appreciated the thoughtfullness of the Hosts. highly recommend to anyone. The town is beautiful, i wish we had a 2nd day to spare there. very peaceful, welcoming and great food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this great feedback. Your comments are very welcome. Hope to see you again.
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night at the start of the St Cuthbert's Way. It was really excellent. The owners were friendly and helpful. The room overlooked a pleasant garden. It was spacious and very well equipped.Generous hospitality tray and a wide range of toiletries in the large en suite. Breakfast was huge and even included a special - which on the morning I was there was a stack of pancakes served with syrup and cream. Melrose itself is well worth a visit. As a finalist in Britain in Bloom everywhere seemed to festooned in flowers.





  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Customer satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities, so your positve comments are very welcome. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Warm welcome, even though we arrived in a fairly muddy state after walking a stage of the Borders Abbey Way. Very comfortable room and shower room, with lots of toiletries. Very high standard of cleanliness and decor. Delicious breakfast - fresh fruit salad, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon etc. All of this and an humorous host in addtion. Would recommend Dunfermline House without hesitation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank glasgowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermlinehouse, Owner at Dunfermline House B&B, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Many thanks for such positive feedback. It makes it all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Top class accommodation and warm welcome! Everything you could wish for in a b and b. Superb breakfast - the best scrambled eggs ever! A great start to our walk on The St. Cuthbert's Way.
The MacDonald Party

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthmacMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunfermline House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunfermline House B&B

Property: Dunfermline House B&B
Address: 3 Buccleuch Street, Melrose TD6 9LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Melrose
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Dunfermline House B&B Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing