We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flawless venue”
other traveler has booked this property
front of Kippilaw House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of Kippilaw House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
front of Kippilaw House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
15 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Melrose, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Garrysdad
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flawless venue”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

28 adults and 4 children met up for a family celebration. All of the questions beforehand were answered quickly and fully. Even as our requirements altered, nothing seemed to be any trouble. The house was clean and fully equipped for a mix of self-catering and catered meals. The weather was just reasonable so we made full use of both the indoor and outdoor facilities. It's easy to feel at home here. Our whole family would recommend Kippilaw for a large gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed feel of the house in a secluded location.
Liked least: Access around the kitchen when people were seated at the table. A slimmer kitchen table might help.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We loved having your family stay with us at Kippilaw House. We hope you visit us again soon and we are so glad you enjoyed your family celebration.
Best regards
Kippilaw House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpenes...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for large family Christmas”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Amazing place to stay, Warm house with plenty of hot water. Kitchen has everything you need, magi mix,electric whips,3 potato peelers etc.
Nothing was too much trouble, even mended 1 of the 7 water heaters on Boxing day!
This property was perfect for a big family Christmas, including the dog.
Thank you Douglas and Lil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lay out so everyone had somewhere to go.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
thank-you so much for staying with us over Xmas .
please visit again if you are around here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenL898
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Cried when we left”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the the house for a good friend's wedding and I can honestly say that I cried when we left as it was such an amazing weekend. I think that the best thing of all was that the whole house was rented out for the wedding party and friends and it made it so much more special.
My husband and I stayed in Ian's room on the second floor - a wonderful little cosy, comfy room and I loved it. It was fantastic to wander in and out of all of the other rooms - they were all decorated amazingly and were in keeping with the style and history of the house.
All of the rooms were simply amazing - I loved the red room and the room that the dinner and dancing was in had a fantastic little bar in it. The wedding itself was held outside just in front of the gardens and we got a fantastically sunny day which just made the day all that more brilliant.
I want to get all of my friends together and rent out the house as it's just a wonderful, totally amazing place to stay!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
Thank you for visiting Kippilaw .
We loved having everyone here and look forward to meeting alan sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielKip...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful family house - full of character”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Went to Kippilaw for my brother-in-law's wedding, stayed all week, looked after VERY well by Lil and co. Was worried that the old house would be cold and drafty in the middle of January in Scotland ... but was actually well warm and cosy in the rooms ... though you can't all have a shower at the same time as the water pressure drops! Unlike some posh places where you feel you can't breathe on the furniture, Kippilaw had a wonderful family feel and was PERFECT for Paul and Mel's wedding. Cannot praise this place highly enough, hope to visit again sometime.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
We're delighted you had such a wonderful stay! Please do come back again.
The Kippilaw Team x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt...
Croydon
2 reviews
“A trip I'll treasure forever!”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My hubby and I had a truly wonderful stay at Kippilaw House last month. It was special for many reasons (e.g. it's not often you see your sister marrying your brother to his fiancee!) but we'd love to give a wee plug for Kippilaw and the wonderful hosts there. We were made so welcome, nothing was too much trouble and the place manages to be both grand and comfy at the same time. Being rather a wuss about feeling the cold, I was delighted to find the place cosy in January and with modern showers and a lovely bath heated off the aga for a guilt-free soak! One of the highlights was the homely kitchen where an assortment of our lovely group came and went, enjoying lingering at the big table over a cuppa. Together with great walks and special family time, this really was a "divine" hol! Thank you, Kippilaw! :)

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
We're delighted you had such a fantastic stay and that their wedding day was so perfect. Please do visit again.
The Kippilaw Team x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you don't feel it, check you still have a pulse!”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I got married in front of an open coal fire in the red room at Kippilaw House on the 10th January 2015.
We spent a full week in the house along with 17 close family and friends with the wedding in the middle of that week.

I have put off writing this review as I feared that my words would be inadequate at doing justice to the setting/people who make up this magical place!
I'm so pleased we picked Kippilaw House in which to be married as nowhere else could have come near it.It's hard to explain why,but I will try:

It has everything. Comfort,style,all mod cons, but most of all what it crucially has,in spades, is what I will call "heart".
This is the factor, the X factor,which makes it stand out from all the rest.
It is full of beautiful, artistic,homely and comfortable touches which all add up to make it something special but from our first meeting with Lil, we felt this friendly welcoming feeling, this "heart.
When searching for our wedding venue we had a long list of requirements which were not easy for us to find in one place. However, not so at Kippilaw. There nothing was too much trouble. Lil listened to all our requirements for the wedding day AND DELIVERED. Not only that, but she, and the team made it look easy!
Although they must all have been working SO hard all day,it all happened behind the scenes, seamlessly.
I must also comment on the food which was like a mini theatrical event in itself. Such attention to detail, with everything beautifully presented AND delicious!
Kippilaw has provided us with such amazing memories we will treasure for ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2015
Thank you Mel for such a wonderful review. We're delighted you had such a fantastic stay and wedding day. Please do visit again. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayayebla...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding day and weekend at Kippilaw house.”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely stunning venue. We had our entire wedding at Kippilaw and couldn't fault it at all. From the moment we arrived on the Friday afternoon, Lil, Douglas and staff were on hand to help us and get everything organised. The rooms are all gorgeous and real effort has been made to maintain as many of the original features as possible (including the thunderbox toilet which was a hit among many of our guests!).The team bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed and our day was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and the staff attentive and friendly without being at all overbearing. Everyone was made to feel very welcome. We had several guests comment on how lovely the house was, how nice the food was and how relaxed the atmosphere was. Truly a weekend to remember-would thoroughly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
thx for coming.
please visit us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing