We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent venue for groups”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mosspaul

Mosspaul
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mosspaul
Mosspaul in summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Mosspaul
Mosspaul in summer
The comfortable sitting room at Mosspaul sits between the bar and the veranda.
The Bar!  All pumps and optics are functional and the owners can order in for you on request.
Casual dining for 10.  The games room can be set up for 28 diners.
Table tennis, darts, giant Wii, cinema and music in the games room.
The cinema seats up to 28 people comfortably for mealtimes
Why not hire our poker table for a quiet night in with a difference.
Stairs and Landing
Room 1 - double
Room 1 shower room ensuite
Room 2 - double
Room 2 ensuite shower room.  The shower is behind the door.
Room 3 - bunk room with 2 double bunks
Room 3
Room 4 - double ensuite.  Adjoins Room 5
Room 5 - triple bunk bed.  Adjoins Room 4
Ensuite bathroom for Rooms 4 and 5.  Has a shower over the bath.
Room 6 - bunk room with 2 triple bunks
Room 6 has a double built in wardrobe
One of 2 shower rooms ensuite to Room 6.  Note that the toilets for this room are over the hallway
Commercial kitchen with cooker, grills, slow cookers, pots and pans
Kitchen showing fridge, crockery and cutlery
Washing up with large commercial dish washer for fast washing
Recycling area
Mosspaul in the mist.  The scenery is stunning and the walking straight from Mosspaul is excellent!
Walking back into Mosspaul in snow.
Mosspaul Rideout Saturday 2015
Mosspaul Rideout Saturday 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Hawick, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorna S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be a great property BUT needs a LOT of attention.”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

21 family members gathered for a long weekend in September. 9 adults and 12 children.
This accommodation could be amazing and could've been one that my family visited yearly. But the cleanliness and condition of the property was well below acceptable standards. If we'd had an option (somewhere else to go)

The bedrooms were clean as was the bed linen. The bathrooms were OK, although a few had broken tiles and the downstairs family room and bathroom were badly affected with black mould.

The kitchen and dishwashing room were the worst affected, the floors and walls and equipment were dirty and there was black mould in many areas.

We hadn't been informed of any holes in ceilings so this was a shock to find the ceiling missing in the reading room.

The roof started leaking on the stairs during our stay which the owner admitted she knew about.

We will not visit again and would recommend others to visit before booking to ensure that the condition of the property has been improved.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
Well we’re a bit surprised that you didn’t think to mention anything 5 months ago when you were here…….. anything at all??

We will of course take your advice on board and would confirm that any future customers are indeed very welcome to come and view our property prior to booking.

Mosspaul does not pay for positive reviews or to prevent people leaving bad reviews. The best way to prevent people from trying to obtain money through ‘review incentives’ (the polite way of saying it) is to leave such reviews up and allow other members of the community to be able to see who offenders are in order to prevent future occurrence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent venue for groups”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Belated review as we stayed here end of October for a Halloween weekend. There were 12 adults and 6 children and there was plenty of roomph for us all. The in is fantastic with a large lounge, bar area and separate cinema room along with a well stocked kitchenot area. We had a ball all weekendal with the adults playang in the bar while the children played in the cinema room or the grounds. We did some walking which was great to blow off the cob webbs. We also made use of the outdoor hot tub which was good fun to set up and then party in. It's a great place this in the middle of nowhere but with so much to do. The hosts are fantastic- highly recommended:-)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
We love having groups like James' staying as they make proper use of the place and all there is to do in and around it. They would be very welcome back. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne...
1 review
“A fabulous venue”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at Mosspaul recently with children - it's a great place for all ages! Long walks in nearby hills were followed by games of pool, movies on the big screen, car racing on the wii, good food and drink! We slept well and felt at home throughout our stay! We thoroughly recommend Mosspaul as a venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2016
Many thanks Adrienne. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here and you would be very welcome to visit again. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u14dto
1 review
“Stag Do”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Mosspaul for a stag do, with 16 of us staying 3 nights.

Overall an excellent weekend, from arriving to find our pre ordered kegs working beautifully, to using the communal facilities such as cinema room, pool table and dart board.

The owners were friendly, and aside from a quick tour when we arrived left us to it. They were available when required however with a simple knock on a door.

The kitchen is also good, with industrial equipment so churning out bacon rolls quickly was easy and got us back to the bar in good time!

Excellent weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Thanks very much David. You left the house is great condition and we loved watching your zorb football. You and your group would be very welcome back. Kind regards, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skeyno
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
“Good Times, Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I was tasked with finding a place that could sleep up to 20 people, had beer, activities and we could party without upsetting people. When I found this place I found the perfect place

We rented the Inn for a Stag party (15 people) and we had more than enough room & the freedom of the Inn. We had the Keg and the optics going in the Bar which all of the guests enjoyed.

We had Poker, Beer Pong, Fifa, Hot Tub, Darts, Pool on the go and had 2 great nights. Owners were very helpful and friendly!

Would recommend to stag groups, good value for money

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thanks very much Sean. Hope you have a good trip back and good luck for the wedding. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Thanks very much David. We are delighted that you all had a good time and you would be welcome back here. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ross A
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I organised a stag do for myself and 16 guys, Alison was a great help throughout the organisation/planning.

We had a great weekend, plenty to do indoors as the weather wasn't great, pool table, darts, massive projector screen to watch the football etc...

The guys enjoyed the chance to pour their own pints in the bar. Great kitchen facilities to feed a large group and also plenty of eating space. Local supermarket will deliver a big shop to save space in the car.

Overall it was a great weekend, thank you to both Alison and Eddie for their help. I'm already looking to organise another trip down there, maybe for some golf next time.

Ross

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space for a large group, lots to do indoors and out.
Liked least: If you were really picky you could moan about the lack of phone signal/WiFi but that's really not why you would go there.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thanks very much for the review Ross. We'd welcome you and your guests back any time and are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing