We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value !! very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

By far the cleanest, friendly place, food was excellent,good value
Very good with well behaved Dogs, The staff make you feel at home, Very Very Pleasant
Will definitely stay with them again, cannot fault them, I think I'v found !!! The perfect place !!! on the Scottish boarder
Thank you for having us,
You and your staff should be very proud

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 511Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 206 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend golfing trip in the Scottish borders. We booked into the Horse and Hound Country Inn for the Saturday night. We were given a warm greeting by the Manager and manageress and directed to our room. The room was a twin room with ensuite shower, Both the room and shower were very clean and the single beds were very comfortable.
The menu that was on gave a good selection of food and as it was Saturday night it was "Steak Night" So that is what we opted for. The meal was very nice and plenty of it, This was washed down by a very nice pint of draught cider.
Sunday morning We came down to breakfast and was offered various cereals and fruit juice. this was followed by a full cooked breakfast again there was plenty of it and it was cooked beautifully with plenty of toast.
All in all I found this to be a very nice, very comfortable B & B with a friendly bar and Very reasonable prices. ( £50 for twin room and a lovely breakfast to start the day ) what more could you want.
I for one will definately be going back to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lennythespread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were there in Sept 2012 and Nov 2012 , but were dissapointed both times,the wine and beer were fine ,and the atmophere in the bar was great but the food was not up to what we used to have there a few years ago, the portions were also very small,i just hope their portions get bigger then it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed for 1 night. The welcome was warm, the room (room 8) was spacious enough, quiet and well appointed with a steam shower. A most comfortable bed. The restaurant/bar was well occupied with locals in the evening. The evening meal selection was varied, try the thai fishcakes and fresh haddock. 3 good real ales. The breakfast was sizeable. Will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: choose a room at the rear away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joandtomtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A perfect little hideaway where one experiences the joys presented by country life. Rooms clean, functional and comfortable, fare good, staff cordial and friendly and bonhomie prevails!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarcCicero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Horse and Hound Country Inn is a good little place to pull over for the night.

We found them on tripadvisor and then gave them a call about 15 mins before we were in Bonchester to check if there were any vacancies for the night. Lucky for us there were plenty!

The staff were very nice and accommodating. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant first and then a quick drink in the bar before retiring for the night upstairs to our room. Travelling in January, it was a nice change to not have to go outside into the freezing cold for dinner.

The room was quite a good size and very warm. The decor was a bit dated but it was still a decent room for the price. Noise control from the pub downstairs and the other rooms was excellent - we didn't hear a peep.

The bathroom was a little odd as it had carpet and the shower was also a sauna-type contraption. Although it was a bit unconventional, it still worked well and was very toasty indeed after a minute or two!

Breakfast was included in the price and it was a full Scottish fry-up. The food was great and we certainly didn't leave hungry.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I_Louvre_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Excellent food and a great place to stay, some great walking, cycling and wildlife viewing. Everyone was very friendly and helpfull, room was clean, comfy and very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
4.7 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
16.4 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
159 reviews
5.8 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 7 in Hawick
24 reviews
12.5 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
179 reviews
6.5 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Address: Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 9SX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Price Range: $92 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horse and Hound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horse and Hound Country Inn is a 300 year old Coaching Inn nestled in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Idea for all types of country pursuits as well as for walkers, cyclists and those just here to chill out and wander around the local Abbey towns. Our 9 en-suite bedrooms are decorated to a high standard with steam showers in some rooms. There is a spacious lounge bar and restaurant serving Traditional Scottish Pub Fayre using fresh local produce where available. The public bar with its roaring log fire is a great place to relax with a pint of real ale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Horse and Hound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Country Hotel Hawick
Country Inn Hawick
Hawick Country Inn
The Horse And Hound Country Inn Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing