We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Selkirk)(Great Value!)
$75
$73
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Hotel(Selkirk)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$135
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
98
70
21
10
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
70
21
10
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerthe pubnew chefthe owneritison vouchertwo night staywell worth a visitborder townsgreat weekenden routeweekend breaklounge areaenjoyable staycomfy bednice rooman evening mealstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 216 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived in the dark and could not find the place, our phone call to the Inn resulted in the manager promptly arriving to our location by car to escort us the rest of the journey. Even though it was late in the evening and the restaurant was closing, they cooked us a fantastic meal and never made us feel like we needed to rush. When we had checked into the room, we had left the window open with a light on in our room, and when we returned, the ceiling was covered in midges. We didn't know what to do, and went downstairs to find that the manager had gone home. Another staff member (unfortunately I didn't get her name) who was just sitting down for her evening tea, kindly came up with the hoover and cleaned them all up. Our room was quiet, even though the pub was full of patrons. The personal service provided made our stay enjoyable, thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackash61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

great little hotel and pub very friendly staff great food excellent chef JOHN Very welcoming and friendly. cheers jimmy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Bad reviews on Tripadvisor date from 2007 - the ownership has changed since then and the issues complained of have gone away.

I was pleasantly surprised by the menus both at breakfast and supper; the staff were friendly, the management co-operative and the whole place comfortable.

Minor niggles - not enough coat-hangers for wet clothing (we were on a cycling holiday ...), shower but no bath, and no decaff coffee on the tray in the bedrooms (but they made some (instant, admittedly) especially for two of us after supper) ... but these are minor issues, as was the missing cable for the lounge TV ... but we were made very welcome and it felt genuinely welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndytheBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here to research family history. The hotel is walking distance to the church and cemetary, a beautiful country walk. The hotel rooms are very good, en suite and clean. We ate a few meals in the restaurant and they were all very good. Service was great and the owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean_bodnarchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights, Friday and Saturday. The room was comfortable, especially the bed! Added bonus, we had a steam facility with the shower, I believe not all rooms have them, so request room 7!
A warm welcome and the food was fantastic, all freshly cooked, the steak I had was cooked to perfection, just as I'd ordered it.
The locals are friendly and the pub was open until 1am!
The surrounding countryside was picturesque, long country lanes and lovely small villages, in saying that, the shops were plentiful
Would definatley go again, infact next visit already in the planning already

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquiOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews