We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay Lovley People”
Review of Elm Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elm Guest House
Ranked #6 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We staged there for a week.there was a mix up from Botel smart but Lynn sorted everything out for the four off us.
One of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in in years. And also the best breakfast.smoked salmon and eggs everyday.
When we work in the area Elm House would be our first choice

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank listcom26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Elm Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 120 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

we have being coming to Hawick for a few years now and we have always stayed at the Elms and the service has been excellent but since it has gone under new management the service is still excellent the staff are friendly and we always have a nice welcome from Lynne and her staff. the breakfasts are excellent so full after. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Hawick to stay there.
Melissa and Roger (Llandudno North Wales)

Room Tip: Number12 The Annexe
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEL190724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The staff were very friendly and used first name terms on arrival and again at breakfast. I will stay here again if i am in this area in the future. Had an evening meal here too which was cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corineross59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It's slightly unfair to review a hotel that's just been taken over by new management and is in the process of being updated – but our one-night stay was enough to guarantee that, if we happen to be in Hawick again, we'd book into the Elm House Hotel without hesitation.

The welcome was as warm as it could possibly be. On seeing we were a married couple who'd booked a twin room because that's all there was on the online booking system, they immediately offered us a double, which was clean, bright and warm.

We had a really comfortable night and breakfast was top-notch, served with more friendly chatter and genuine interest over how our stay had been. As they had a wedding party in they were happy to be flexible about our check-out time, which is always a nice touch when you're thinking another hour in bed might be nice!

I'd have to say the shower was a bit clunky, but I'm pretty certain that's the kind of thing that will be attended to in the very near future. Even if it's not we could live with it!

No real complaints and plenty of praise – especially for the welcome, which seriously could not have been warmer. Fully recommended for a friendly, local experience.

Room Tip: I think Elm House is the kind of place where you should ask about precisely what you want, and if th...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Never been to Hawick before and found this little gem quite by accident as it didn't come up on laterooms. From arrival it was just the friendliest place. Room was basic but clean and comfortable - for an insomniac to sleep solidly for 8 hours on each night I was there - it was comfortable! The staff, like the townsfolk, are extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating, and for the price they charge you'd be daft to look elsewhere. They've just got themselves a potential regular. Thanks to all who made the visit such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We returned, as a family, for the second time, to the Elm House Hotel, and found it to be clean, very friendly, and an ideal base for exploring the area. I had a room on the top floor, and found it to be nicely decorated, very clean, and furnished with clean linen every morning. Beautifully located in the middle of Hawick, the real bonus is the ability to park the car in the hotel car park. Indulged in the full Scottish breakfast every day, and it was delicious! Evening meals are no longer available at the hotel, but the Wetherspoon pub, literally across the road from the hotel, did good, cheap food, and some great beers, and the Chinese just down the road was great value too. The owner made us welcome, and we felt very at home here, and the staff, particularly during breakfast, were warm and friendly. We will return to this hotel with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My firat trip back to scotland in 30 years after immigrating at the age of 12, a little biased as my mum worked here in the early 80's, so I had to stay there for a brief visit to Hawick.
I found the hotelvery similar to the way I remember it so felt right at home. The hotel is very clean and welcomming. Rooms are just right and what you would expect for a b & b a real homely feeling. Great little bar to unwind and relax. Above all I found the owners very helpful and friendly, just like they were inviting you into their family home. Great to sit and chat with.
the location is very central to town and hotels and pubs close by. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
1.0 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
30 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 7 in Hawick
23 reviews
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
9.6 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Guest House

Address: 17 North Bridge Street, Hawick TD9 9BD, Scotland (Formerly Elm House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elm House Hotel is in old area of Hawick the hotel is family run by Stephen, Lynn and family. The Elm serves coffee in mornings in our new refurbished bar. We have 8 Annex rooms which are budget rooms starting at £ 50.00 Per person which is good for workers, walkers and cyclists. In main hotel we have 8 rooms done to a high standard starting from £65.00 Per person inc breakfast. We can cater for bus runs for tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Guest House Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing