We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed.”
Review of Elm Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elm Guest House
Ranked #6 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here as we were in Hawick for a concert and the Elm House Hotel was perfect for our needs.
We had two double rooms, both in the annex part of the hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious.
The staff were friendly and the hotel is in the perfect location for the town centre.
Thanks for a great stay.
:-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Elm Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently stayed in the Elm House Hotel whilst visiting friends in Hawick. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and comfortable. The owner Jonny was friendly and very helpful, the location of the hotel (50yards from the high st) was absolutely perfect. The rooms were spotless and larger than we expected. Breakfast was excellent with cereals and juice then full scottish cooked breakfast. I can't recommend this hotel enough. There's plenty to do in the scottish borders like golf, trekking, mountain biking and sightseeing. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyllieboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed one night with a young baby, given a large family room with bath which was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Best breakfast I've had in a long time too! Great location in the centre of town with private parking. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby and nice bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Bad room very bad bed lots of noise but great location for everything could need thankfully only staying one night and breakfast was average had a tiny vintage portable tv stuck up in the corner of room totally useless

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great hotel and superb hosts. Three of us, plus driver and car arrived in Hawick during our Lands End to John O'Groats cycle. Made a number of phone calls to B & B's in the area. Landed lucky with the Elm House Hotel. Very helpful in giving us good directions and assisting with securing our bikes overnight. Lovely large clean rooms. Great breakfast. Great central location for shops / fuel. Couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The room I received wasn't even in the main part of the refurbished hotel, it was in the very dated extension. The room was very basic and the bed was truly awful and very uncomfortable. The room and windows had no sound-proofing whatsoever, so the noise of traffic on one side and the noise of the other guests in adjacent rooms resulted in a totally sleepless night! It was very hot and stuffy and due to the aforementioned noises you couldn't leave any of the windows even slightly open.
The staff were pleasant and helpful enough and there was a private car park for residents. Breakfast was ok, plenty to eat but very greasy.
All in all, this hotel is not worth the money and certainly even not worthy of it's 3-star grading. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musicman9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Thirteen of us from Lancashire went up to the Borders for three days of golf and based ourselves in the Elm House Hotel in the centre of Hawick.

As has been said elsewhere the rooms we were allocated were all a good size, well clean and comfy with pristine spotless bed linen.

The Redpaths were fine hosts and looked after our every whim. The hotel was in a quiet area and (best of all perhaps) you only had to travel directly across the road outside the back door to get to the local Wetherspoons where the liquid refreshment was varied and very cheap.

Very inexpensive but very good was our verdict.

IF the Borders was ever to be the venue for another golf trip, the Elm House would be a cert!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank depribsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
1.0 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
30 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 7 in Hawick
24 reviews
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
9.6 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Guest House

Address: 17 North Bridge Street, Hawick TD9 9BD, Scotland (Formerly Elm House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elm House Hotel is in old area of Hawick the hotel is family run by Stephen, Lynn and family. The Elm serves coffee in mornings in our new refurbished bar. We have 8 Annex rooms which are budget rooms starting at £ 50.00 Per person which is good for workers, walkers and cyclists. In main hotel we have 8 rooms done to a high standard starting from £65.00 Per person inc breakfast. We can cater for bus runs for tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Elm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Guest House Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing