We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with good food”
Review of Laughing Buddha

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Laughing Buddha
Ranked #17 of 39 Restaurants in Hawick
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly with good food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not only is the Laughing Buddha a family friendly restuarant it serves some of the best Chinese food I've tasted.
Service is quick and with a smile - and we didn't even have to ask for small children's portions. The food was delicious and not even our two-year-old left anything on her plate.
We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyneholmford, Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stayed just for a minute”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Visited this restaurant last night about 8.30.
The door was opened by a four-year old girl who was playing in the restaurant with her slightly older brother, screaming and shouting and running up and down the aisle.
There were two other customers in the restaurant.
We sat down, both children standing by our table, staring at us and grinning.
No attempt was made by a woman who I assume was the restaurant owner and their mother to remove the children, so we upped and left and had a decent enough meal at Wetherspoons instead.
Note to management - it is inexcusable to allow your own children to be unruly, disturbing potentially paying customers. Keep your children out of the way and you might get more business.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the window display”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Once we had walked past a few times we took the plunge .glad we did the food was fantastic quality and portions were generous .staff were very enthusiastic and friendly which made for a very relaxed meal .if only they would put some good photos if food up in the window I am sure more people would come in . we would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very basic restaurant, but great food, worth a visit”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Been twice now and very impressed with the food. Its a bit of a cafe experience, really quite basic inside. Could definitley do with a makeover.
Staff were very friendly and happy to explain dishes.
Food comes out quickly, its excellent, good quality and tasty. I enjoyed it and look forward to going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Buddha also viewed

Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Laughing Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing