We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fair meal at a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mosspaul Inn - CLOSED

Mosspaul Inn
Cuisines: British, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Mosspaul Inn is now a holiday rental and is no longer open as a bar and restaurant.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fair meal at a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family and I have just got back from a weekend near Hawick. We ate our Sunday dinner at the Mosspaul Inn and although the place was a little quiet (it is the end of September after all) the Mosspaul was very pleasant and all 9 of us enjoyed the beef roast dinners, Steaks, Chicken and Lamb very much.
The food was of a decent quality and was well cooked.
The menu was reasonably varied and that the simple wine selection hit the spot.
We wanted for nothing and we all thought that the owners seem to have struck a nice balance of good honest food & drink with the needs of their general cliental.
The service was personable and attentive and all in all I would recommend stopping by if travelling along the A7 or looking for a nice bite to eat after a walk.
The Inn itself is unassuming and set along a rugged pass along the A7. Though it may perhaps lack some of the character of an oldey world pub the owners have set up a pleasant, well maintained Inn and seem to welcome all who stop by on their travels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJTT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great find!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stumbled across this little beauty on our way to Edinburgh. Fantastic service, lovely people and outstanding value for money. Would come back here any day!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank penny8407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic value - Great hosts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself ,partner and dog stayed over Saturday night on-route back to Manchester - lovely setting/excellent quality room & very very good value for money especially considering the substantial portion sizes of the food!
All the tables were booked out withe people either staying over or coming from the surrounding area.
The hosts are a lovely couple and considering they have only re-opened a short-time since closure for over 2 years the standard they have already set themselves should stand them in good stead to continue flourishing!Not only will they bring back local people but also passing trade/walkers/bikers alike.
I would like to wish them continued success & I have no doubt in my mind that if we are in the area again we will definitely be returning.
Thanks Ruth,Chris and Bobby

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perhaps they were having a bad day but ......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would go so far as to say that I probably havent had such an unpleasant meal in an awfully long time. We arrived for a late lunch and ordered a chilli con carne, a sweet and sour pork and a butternut squash lasagne.

My chilli arrived with a very large, very greasy poppadum but strangely enough not a kidney been in sight, the mince tasted cheap and watery with an unusual spice that certainly didnt taste like chilli. The sweet and sour pork arrived again with a very greasy poppadum and pork in a very pink watery sauce, it tasted like the pork had been cut up (including the fat) after it had been cooked and dropped into the sauce at the last minute, needless to say it wasnt very nice and the majority was left. As for the lasagne, this was eaten as my husband was extremely hungry but it he felt quite out of sorts for the rest of the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonRadleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Didnt expect too much as we arrived. Turned out to be fantastic food. Beautifully presented, delicious meals. Perfectly cooked vegetables and excellent fayre. If I come back this way I wont hesitate to revisit this excellent inn.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baldietrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosspaul Inn also viewed

Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing