We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Denholm Meet

Denholm Meet
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

One of the best Italian Restaurant cullinary experiences in my dining history. We visited as a group of 8 on our last evening of 4 spent in the Borders, and all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Background music a little loud, though turned down on request.

Happy to recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    37
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hawick
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Superb fresh produce, great menu, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Simone squeezed us in on a Saturday night. The menu was loaded with delicious options - we enjoyed steaks and sea bass cooked brilliantly! All tables were full which created a real buzz and great atmosphere. Simone and the girls provided very efficient service and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hassendeanbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Italian charm”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Simone has performed a small miracle. For years the two pubs reigned supreme in the village, but he has managed to create a niche for himself with what may easily be the best coffees in Denholm and lovely Italian dishes that are quite affordable. It really is a meet: friends of mine meet here for a drink and catch up on the latest gossip. Sadly, the shop upstairs is not the same since Rob Armstrong relocated to Minto, but the Meet is still well worth a visit. It also feature regular music do's and concerts.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in a charming village”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten a number of times in this very authentic Italian restaurant and have never been disappointed.
The food is good, the service efficient and friendly, and the wine of good value and excellent quality.
Every time we return to Denholm we make a beeline for this very pleasant venue.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have eaten there now about 5 times - food is consistently good.

Only downside is if you are unlucky to hit on an evening where there are big parties, or girls nights out, then the noise level makes it impossible to have a conversation, and the food/service can also suffer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denholm Meet also viewed

Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Denholm Meet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing