We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were delighted to return for another stay at this delightful property. Everything is geared to make your stay as relaxing and pleasant as possible. A very good choice of breakfast options, freshly prepared, comfortable beds, and use of the lounge, together with sociable hosts make this a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
It was good of you to take the time to review your stay. We enjoyed meeting you both again and hope to see you on another of your visits to the Borders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a lovely welcome, the rooms were excellent very clean and comfortable. Jane and Norman were wonderful hosts and the food was lovely. The house is a lovely design and very well situated to see lots of wildlife and the gardens etc. We had our elderly dog with us and they were very accommodating with him as well. Overall a lovely and relaxing night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope your Hogmanay was as good as anticipated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a fabulous place to stay. This is a beautiful b&b and we weren't surprised when we were told that Jane and Norman used to run a hotel - it shows.
The room and bathroom were of a very high specification and we were delighted to have a lounge too. Not just any lounge but a lounge that opened out on to the decking area with the beautiful scenery all around. It was interesting to see how self-sufficent Jane and Norman were and their concern for the environment.
It felt very confortable being in someone else's home which is always important for a b&b. Jane and Norman were wonderful hosts.
And they didn't mind the motorbike and all the paraphernalia that goes with biking. Indeed, they welcome bikers. Brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_boxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
As we said when you left we are very happy to have members of the biking community to stay with us.Tank you for understanding what we are trying to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

A very warm welcome from Jane and Norman who draw on many years experience as hoteliers in the highlands. A beautiful modern architect design house with an exceptional residents lounge.
Our evening meal on Sunday was excellent. Home cooked food and not a microwave to be seen. Fruit and vegetables from the garden and locally sourced meat.
Breakfast was a culinary delight. Home baked bread and toast. Home made marmalades. Porridged served from the Aga. This was above and beyond what you would expect from the best of B&B's.
I should add we where travelling with my elderly Mother and the help offered and given by Jane and Norman was outstanding. We will be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It's always nice for us to be so appreciated in what we do, we are very grateful to you and others who take the time out to put a comment on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This has to be my favourite place in Scotland! In fact, I'd say it's in my top three UK destinations. I've visited twice now and it's the perfect spot for a relaxing break. Breathtaking location, beautiful locally sourced food and an outstanding personal touch that really makes you feel at home - what more can you ask for?! I live in London and from the moment you drive up to the chocolate box house, set amongst the rolling hills, it's like the chaos of the big smoke is a million miles away. A warm welcome, exceptional food and cosy surroundings make this an idyllic setting for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are glad you have fallen in love with the Borders and we feel privileged to be able to live here. All our visitors have complimented us on the design of the house and we are so lucky that it fits into our woodland so well. We hope to so see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Jane and Norman welcomed us very warmly in their beautiful wooden house surrounded by lovely landscapes. We watched an exceptional sunset from our bedroom window and had a delicious evening meal, obvioulsy cooked by someone who enjoys cooking for others and sharing food. The room was very confortable and had a lot of information about what to do in the area. The bathroom is luxirious and bigger than our own at home!
I particularly enjoyed having breakfast in the sun overlooking the vegetable garden and the woods.
Overall a more than pleasant stay. I would definitely come back to Brae Cottage!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelaKuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was the first stop of a two-week trip and it was the best place of all. Jane and Norman are very welcoming and helpful, We booked a dinner with them and it was exquisite--stuffed salmon to die for--and they cooked porridge for us all night on their auger for breakfast the next morning! Gorgeous views from their deck. Off the beaten track but well worth a visit. The owners' previous experience of running a hotel on the Island of Mull really shows in their attention to guests on this smaller scale. Two dogs, two birds, and a cat add more coziness to an already beautiful, light, and airy timber eco home. Superb place!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michwlw_M57257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
.
Thank you. We enjoyed your visit with us and we would love to meet up with you again if you come this way again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hawick hotels
4.8 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
5.5 mi away
The Bank Guest House
The Bank Guest House
#2 of 20 in Hawick
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Colterscleuch House & Cottage
5.6 mi away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 7 in Hawick
21 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Coppice
The Coppice
#3 of 20 in Hawick
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Blacklee Brae | Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 9TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Brae Cottage Bed And Breakfast Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing