We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had our wedding here and it could not have been better! Lovely gardens. Marvellous staff. Loved the decor and furnishings. Bed was sooooo comfortable. Our parents also loved it and thought it a perfect hotel for a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayl-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    45
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
75
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just returned from an overnight at Mansfield Hotel in Hawick. Very pleased with my experience. Great staff and really authentic surroundings ake this hotel good value for money even staying in the borders. Food was very nice and the bar area very welcoming. Rooms were well equipped and comfortable, phone signal was okay taking into account location.
All together a really enjoyable evening and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Wifi and phone signal weaker in basement rooms so ask for first floor rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My colleague and I travelled to Hawick from Glasgow arriving much later than we origionally expected. This was due to horrendous weather conditions causing severe traffic delays, accidents and road closures.
We called ahead to advise we would be late and were informed that the chef would be kept on after 8pm for our arrival and to have a safe journey.
When we checked in I received a key for 'The Tower'. What a lovely suprise, The Tower is the nicest room I have ever stayed in whilst on business. With the the private lit stairway, four poster bed and rain shower I felt spoiled. This was an extremely welcome delight after our trip to Hawick.
We had a really nice meal in the bar area and we were so pleased the chef had stayed on for our benefit.
Unfortunately, we had to leave before breakfast started but again the staff done us proud. The same friendly lady that checked us in and served us our meal came in early to provide us with coffee/tea/cereal and toast. I didn't get her name.
The only disappointment I have - it was dark when we arrived and dark when we left, so I wasn't able to appreciate the views from the Tower! Hardly the hotels fault, I'll just have to work on my husband to take me back!
Great hotel with great staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peanut2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had our wedding reception in the Mansfield in September this year. We had been planning it for a year with the wedding manager of the hotel, who was very friendly, helpful and honest about costs and options from the very beginning. He also helped us find a DJ for the night, who turned out to be perfect as he got everyone dancing - the dancefloor was never empty! It was a brilliant evening, the staff were very organised, they were great with us, the food was of very high quality and the room was just perfect. We had such a great night that a lot of our guests kept talking about it long after, and so many commented on the food and the music. Thank you again Matt for a most memorable evening! We will definitely be back for an anniversary or two, as well as for some dinner!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuldAlliance1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in the hotel a few days ago. It was a return visit for us. As a child living in the town I'd eaten in the dining room, and some years ago we stayed in the hotel on a return visit to Hawick. We actually stayed in the same room as last time, room 2, but it had been greatly upgraded since last time (when it was rundown with the bathroom not in a good state), and now had a relatively new bathroom suite, and a four poster bed. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, and our room was comfortable and well appointed. We ate dinners in the hotel on both nights and these were of a good standard. And breakfasts on both mornings were large and filling. Would recommend the hotel to visitors to the town. I recommended it to my father-in-law who also stayed in it a few months ago, and enjoyed his time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Working in Hawick on Monday at the Heart of Hawick, our colleagues recommended Mansfield House so we would be sure to get dinner on Sunday evening. Full with a large shooting party, we were booked into fairly small room 4 with a shower room which proved comfortable for one night. This is a "country house hotel", largely intact, set in steep grounds above the road out to Jedburgh, extended at the back to provide conference accommodation.
Dinner delivered an "all day Sunday lunch" for a remarkable price which we enjoyed in the elegant high-ceilinged restaurant, though others preferred to eat in the bar. Great choice of malt whiskies. Breakfast brought the "full Scottish" and thick mist which meant the view over Hawick was invisible. Probably an oasis in a desert.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had a wonderful, large, quiet room, king-size bed, larg windows overlooking the garden, old furnitures, like a movie. the food was fine, you could also sit next to the fireplace...or eat at the bar, in a relaxed atmosphere. breakfast is fine, service is very nice !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriele290858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
1.7 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
20 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
14.4 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
11.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield House Hotel

Property: Mansfield House Hotel
Address: Weensland Road, Hawick TD9 8LB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansfield House Hotel has now been awarded 4 stars from the Scottish Tourist Board. The Mansfield House Hotel is situated in approximately 10 acres of established grounds on the outskirts of Hawick, the largest of the Border towns famous for the Common Riding, rugby and knitwear. The house was originally the private home of the Oliver family built in 1870. These entrepreneurs of the new industrial age tastefully influenced the many distinctive architectural features, from the thistle and rose ceilings in the lounge and reception areas, to the Russian pine shutters, skirting and doors throughout the main house. The hotel is family run by Lynn Evans and Stephen Murray who also have the sister hotel elm house hotel in Hawick. We are dog friendly we have wood land walks around hotel were you can watch roe deer some times badgers and foxes .we cater for large bus party for meal or stop over for the night with good rates. we also cater for weddings and functions up too 200 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mansfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansfield House Hotel Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing