We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best thing about Hawick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turnbulls

Turnbulls
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An Award Winning Coffee House and Delicatessen in the Scottish Borders' town of Hawick which is famous for its Cashmere
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best thing about Hawick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stopped here for lunch today. I have to to say it was simply delightful: the food was very good and it had a great atmosphere. I have to say it is the best thing about Hawick.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StrategicPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely little place we called in whilst staying in the area on a break, nice strong coffee, proper tea leaves rather than a soggy tea bag and delicious food.

Helpful?
Thank simplysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
Level Contributor
370 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Never lets you down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good service, good food, good atmosphere sitting inside or out. Great for gifts with a Scottish theme - love it. Gold star for Christine!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hassendeanbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Avoid for locally produced eggs!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I visited turnbulls today for some nice fresh eggs as i have heard nothing but good things about them but I was left sadly dissapointed and quite annoyed! I asked for 6 fresh eggs (which were meant to be organic) if they were they were the worst I've ever got. They were tiny and at a cost of £2.00 for 6 they were the most expensive I've ever got. When o got them home to it was then I realised as I went to poach them that they weren't even fresh (these were old eggs) the whites were very very runny and the yolks yellow a sure sign that these were old eggs!! I live in Hawick and can promise that as a local I will never use them again for anything!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kittys52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnbullshop, Owner at Turnbulls, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Kittys52,

We very much value customer feedback and were sorry to hear that you were so extremely dissatisfied with our Local Organic eggs, which you were unable to poach successfully.

As a champion of local produce and having noted the severity of your comment about the eggs you purchased from our store, we have been in contact with the farmer whose flock produces them and can offer a very natural explanation for the condition of your eggs.

We can confirm that the eggs you purchased were delivered fresh from the farm on Friday (19/07/2013) having been harvested shortly before this by our supplier who is a fully registered and highly respected producer of Organic Eggs. It must be stressed that the eggs we supply are a true organic product and as such display many of the natural and desired traits which have been engineered out of mass produced enriched cage eggs. For this reason, egg size can vary considerably depending on weather and other conditions. Shell characteristics will also not be identical in colour or texture, but instead will be of a more natural and varied palette. In addition to this, yolk colour which in the eggs we supply is not enhanced by dye in the hen’s diet, will vary depending on the seasons and grass coverage amongst many other environmental factors not experienced in factory or non-organic farms. For this reason, we do not pre-pack our eggs for retail, but instead allow our customers to choose their own selection from our stock at a flat pre-determined price of £2 per half dozen.

As such, the very welcome, but extremely hot weather we have lately been exposed to has resulted in smaller eggs with a higher than normal spread (runny) rate, due to the fact that in extreme heat, organic outdoor free range hens tend not to range very far and lose their appetite somewhat (not being force, cage fed). This will certainly make poaching more difficult, but cannot reliably be used as a marker of freshness.

Having been supplied many thousands of eggs over the years from Synton Parkhead Farm for both retail and our own kitchens we are very confident in our supplier having developed a strong following for his eggs over the years. As such, we would very much like to invite you back to our store for a refund or exchange and hope that you will reconsider your position that our local organic eggs are to be avoided. In addition to this we would be delighted to put you in contact with the farmer who produced the eggs you bought for further information or to arrange a visit to the farm.

Kind Regards,

Turnbull’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a good meal, with fresh ingredients, made quickly and with friendly service. Bought some great scotch and gifts. Family owned and run and it shows.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turnbulls also viewed

Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Turnbulls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing