We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOVELY STUDIO”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lurden Coach House

Sunny west face
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny west face
Early Autumn at Lurden Coach house Living/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sunny west face
Early Autumn at Lurden Coach house
Living/dining area
Living/dining area
Living/dining area
Cosy Lounge
Lounge /Dining Room
Lounge
Driveway leading to Coach House
Walled Garden
Woodland Walk
View across the lawn and driveway
View from walled garden
Lurden Burn runs through the garden
Hassendean Burn beside the parking area
Pipe band leads the Ride out into Denholm
Deer in the Garden
Driveway
Bedroom
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hawick, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alessandr...
Imola, Italy
2 reviews
“LOVELY STUDIO”
Reviewed August 11, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Even better than we expected: the location is superb and Beth and her family warmly welcomed us.
The studio is lovely and confortable, the place is peaceful and romantic: we look forward to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2018
Thank you Alessandra, Stefano & Tommaso for your lovely review. It was great meeting you and I hope you enjoyed all your time in Scotland. Would love to have you back on your next trip. Best wishes, Beth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seonaid S
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 29, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Really friendly owners. Great walks and the setting is lovely and quite. Good places to eat nearby and lots of places to visit. Would go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2018
Thank you Seonaid for taking the time to write a review. It's great to receive such positive comments. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunde O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I just want to go back that is what I feel. The accommodation is really comfy and well equipped. The house sit in the middle of the wood and it has amazing view. Beth and David really kind and helpful hosts. Than you both to giving the opportunity to stay in your Coach House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2018
Thank you Tunde for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future. Beth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail Y
1 review
“Amazing place, highly recommended!”
Reviewed February 8, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Loved this place, it is very clean, comfy and cozy. It was our first trip together to Scotland and it was a really nice place to stay as we visited the country. It was rather cold and to our delight, the host came up and started the fireplace for us. Not only did he start a very warm and roaring fire, but he taught us some tricks and tips, it was a nice first experience for us. With the fire on, we could relax in the very spacious lounge and watch some tv. The hosts are also very friendly and approachable whenever we needed any assistance.
The area is very pleasant with clear pathways for walks and a beautiful waterfall just a few mins walk away. We could see occasional pheasants walking around which was rather cute.
Overall it was a beautiful place, would definitely recommend it and would love to come back in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Lurden Coach House. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shonabmut...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lurden coach house -”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely the best find !
If you're looking for a hidden gem , in beautiful , tranquil surroundings , good all year round with oodles of character , then this is for you !
The lounge is ENORMOUS with hugely comfortable sofas and one is a sofa bed .......mega comfortable and so easy to pull out and put back .
There is a stunning wood burner which brings even more charm and comfort ........we had such hot weather , sadly couldn't use it !
There is a dining table , too .......no compromise on Soave with all this large furniture , honestly the room is so big and the vaulted ceiling with beams makes it feel even more spacious .
The bedroom is also huge , with kingsize bed , single bed and dressing table .
Small but very well equipped galley kitchen , complete with all you'd need .
Shower room is small but houses a terrific shower !

Views are amazing from your windows .....gardens , burn , woodland , sky.........no light pollution so the sky at night is just full of jewels.

The sounds of the burn running by and all wildlife , just so soothing for the soul .
It's absolutely the greatest wee find I've made in several years .
Beth and David are lovely and couldn't have been more helpful .
I'll be back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Hi Shona, thank you so much for reviewing Lurden in such glowing terms. I really appreciate you taking the time to do so. We love living here and it's nice to have great positive feedback from guests. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah2355...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hosts, amazing view”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this property for 3 nights and was doubtful about it. But as I entered I fell in love with that. The cottage itself is basic but has everything you need during your stay except the washing machine! It had a small chimney with some wood to make fire and the bedroom is spacious. You can hear the river sound in the living room which was amazing. In the morning I used to sit near the river and do meditation. The river passes inside the property and has several routs to beautiful sightseeing around the cottage. Beth and David were quiet helpful and nice. In the first day we wanted to go out to buy milk and they share theirs with us. My nephew( a kid) was loving the place and didn't want to leave there.I look forward coming back there next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review








































Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Lurden. It's much appreciated. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LewisRanc...
1 review
“Far from the Madding Crowd”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Lurden Coach House as a base to see family in and around the borders and west coast. We felt it better to have a self contained base as opposed to the constraints of B&B as we knew we would be coming and going at odd hours with the travelling. Lurden House was perfect, very quiet, set in picturesque grounds and we were warmly welcomed by the homes owner - we hope to return, but next time as a base for a proper holiday to better explore the beauty of the borders!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Thank you for such a positive review, it's much appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed your visit to this area. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing