We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for a family Christmas”
other travelers have booked this property
Private driveway approaching the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private driveway approaching the house
Front of the house Large garden room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Private driveway approaching the house
Front of the house
Large garden room
Garden room with Gazebo / hot tub outside
Dining room from the hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen with door through to garden room
Rear of the house
Gardens looking back to the house
Double bedroom
Dining room
Garden room
Hallway
En suite bedroom
Bedroom
En suite bathroom
Bedroom with king size bed
Double bedroom
Sitting room with open fire
Dining room
Outdoor hot tub
Our BBQ 'Hobbit' house!
View to the house in winter
View from the ponds to Border countryside
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hawick, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
charlotte...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house for a family Christmas”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas week at Branxholm Knowe. The house is spacious, comfortable and equipped to a high standard, and was beautifully decorated for the festive season. We loved the wood burning stoves for cosy evenings and the large dining room for getting the whole family together for meals. The hot tub and BBQ hut were great fun, the kids absolutely loved them. The surrounding area is great for walking and biking. All in all a fantastic holiday house.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at Branxholm Knowe and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! We hope we have the chance to welcome you back sometime soon! Kind regards, Ian and Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise B
Banbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Luxurious house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here in beautiful winter weather and thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of Branxholm Knowe. The warm welcome and spacious but cosy house was really appreciated by all. We found everything needed for six adults and two grandchildren - the hot tub was used every day even in -5 temperatures! The kitchen is well equipped and the rooms tastefully decorated in keeping with the style of the house. Lots of space inside and out in the lovely garden for privacy and peace and quiet. Thank you for a memorable stay!

Date of stay: November 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2016
Thank you - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Branxholm Knowe! I am very impressed you managed to brave sub zero temperatures to use the hot tub - obviously made of sterner stuff in Northern Ireland!
Thanks again, Ian and Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewed November 24, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Thank you! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed Branxholm Knowe and hope you do come back and visit! Kind regards, Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diane82
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Heaven on a biscuit!”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a family re-union here over the bank holiday weekend and it was everything we wished for and more.
Spacious yet cosy,comfortable, peaceful and relaxing.
The house is set right back off the road so it is very private and we felt like we were on our own tiny island.
The house is decorated to a high standard and has everything you need for a comfortable stay including lots of logs for the woodburner!
We had lots of fun just chilling and exploring the extensive gardens and even had a black tie dinner in the formal dining room enjoying life like the other half!
The whole family thoroughly enjoyed themselves and we were really sad to leave.but we will be back!
One of life's hidden gems!

Thank you Ian for everything.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The seclusion and peacfulness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Thank you - we are delighted you all enjoyed Branxholm Knowe and everything that the house has to offer. The black tie dinner sounds fun! We hope to welcome you back! Kind regards, Ian & Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill-Jack
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday home”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house was SPLENDID; ideal for our family gathering with plenty of room for 10 of us without tripping over one another. The hot tub was a WONDERFUL hit with middle generation and the BBQ house was such a wonderful surprise. No matter what the weather we could enjoy a BBQ whenever we wanted.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
We are delighted you had a great time at Branxholm Knowe and thank you for taking the time to write a review. The hot tub certainly has been a great success with our guests as has the BBQ house. I think people are surprised at just how large the BBQ house is!
We hope you manage to come back in the future. Kind regards, Ian And Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent house for large group”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent house for our large group with amazing hot tub, superb views and a BBQ hut. House was clean and for us the location was perfect. Wifi available and log burner was used. Unlimited wood available.

20mins drive from nearest town and there's an activity centre 40mins which we used (raft building.)

I would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your resent stay - we are delighted you enjoyed Branxholm Knowe and hope you will consider us in the future. Kind regards, Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donfambhx
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Set off the main road with a long sweeping drive it's a beautiful house which is very well equipped. The kitchen had everything we needed - 2 fridges, plenty of utensils and lots of space. We enjoy cooking when we all get together. The house in general was perfect - lovely comfy beds and rooms full of character. Lots of games and things to do for the whole family,

The lady who met us, Isobel was very knowledgable about the area and the house. We enjoyed the wood fires which are great as long as the wind is not too strong. The conservatory is HUGE and it's lovely with everyone sitting in there with the log fire burning. The hot tub is wonderful with a fabulous view. The BBQ cabin is also a good addition - we didn't use it but you could have a BBQ whatever the weather, it's a great space.

During our stay we visited Alnwick Castle, Edinburgh and Hawick town has everything such as supermarkets and shops. We had lunch one day in Night Safe Bistro which was good and also The Mayfield in Hawick served great home cooked food.

Lovely house, perfect for a get together, we would like to come again - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay thank you.

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Thank you! It is great to hear you had a lovely stay at our house and managed to explore the local area and also further afield - we also love Alnwick Castle! We do hope you manage to return!

Kind regards, Ian & Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing