We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hassendean B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hassendean B&B
Ranked #6 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2014

High recommend staying at this friendly B & B on the outskirts of several country towns which gives you a variety of places to visit. If visiting Edinburgh is on your list then staying here and doing the park and ride on the way is a better option than driving into the busy city and finding parking. Room was spacious and everything looked new and extremely clean. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was delicious and such a variety of choices to please everyone's tastes. Nothing was too much trouble. Help advice and travel brochures available on a wide range of things.
Arrived as strangers and left as friends, wonderful hosts, couldn't ask for more. thank you Janet and Les from two very happy Aussies.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi Leigh and Alan, thank you for your superb review, and also for the wee card you left in the room. It was so good to meet you both and to hear about all the family history. It worked out really well that you could stay the extra couple of days and as you said by the time you left it was as if you have always stayed with us. Enjoy the rest of your trip and send us updates by email. Cheers Janet and Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hassendean B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

My friend and I were cycling from Edinburgh to London, this B&B was our first stop. Very accommodating with our bikes and securely locked up overnight. We got greeted at the door with two fresh glasses of water and had a helping hand with out bags. Lovely clean spacious room (twin) with great views. It was a shame we only had one night there, i could of stayed for a week.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi Barry, Congrats on making it back home and completing your cycle challenge, and for writing a review for us. We enjoyed meeting you both at your first stop and hope the weather was in your favour for the rest of the trip. We were seriously impressed at you taking it on - so well done!! Cheers Janet and Les.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I spent 4 days in the hassendean. And found it to be a welcoming friendly B&B, the breakfast in the morning was delicious with the fresh picked fruit. The room I stayed in was very large with an en suite that was just as big. The balcony view was perfect while enjoying a cuppa in the sun. I would highly recommend for a lovely visit to the borders

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenotjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Hi Dave(John) - I'm still laughing at that mix up! Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review. It was great to meet you all and enjoy all the chats - brought back good memories of 'retail days' in the past. It's brilliant that you all felt at home here and that the day time sleeping worked very well. Thank you again for the chocolates - all gone now (no surprise there, in this house!). Hope you all get well rested over the weekend ready for the next trip. Cheers Janet and Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a lovely b&b. Nice, big, bright room with good sized ensuite. Really lovely, chatty hosts and a good breakfast.

If you are anywhere around Hawick or surrounding area we'd highly recommend Hassendean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dounelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Hi Linda, Great to see your review, thank you and hope the triathlon went well - we saw a few cyclists go by but mostly blokes - you were probably ahead of them! At least you had the Monday to recover and hope you had a good trip home. We'll hope to see you both again next year (no pressure!!), cheers Janet and Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

One night stay in a lovely B&B, large clean room, very peacefull and comfortable. Added benefit of a balcony to sit out in the sun. Breakfast was very good, loved the fresh homemade bread toasted. Has everything you need in a B&B. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi Gemma, many thanks for writing a great review, it was lovely to meet you both during your travels. Hope you had a good onward journey and that we might see you again sometime in the future. We are just back from our driving adventure to northern Spain which was brilliant! Take care regards Janet and Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice stay at Hassendean. The owners are really open and interested in their guests. Breakfast was good: we had a lot of choices, all fresh. Bed was soft and room/bathroom nicely clean. It was great that we had the option of choosing a variety of dvd's. This B&B is Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anoek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi Anoek and Martijn, Hope you had a superb tour of Scotland and got some good weather to go with it! Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us. It was good to meet you both and to hear about your respective jobs and life in the Netherlands. Cheers Janet and Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed a couple of times at Hassendean B&B, and felt home the first minute I arrived (after enjoying the drive to Hassendean).
A warm welcome by Janet is guaranteed, and the best Scottish breakfast is consistently served.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Hi Albert, thank you so much for writing a great review - it was very good to see you again and I hope you had a good day in Hawick and a pleasant trip back to your lovely family. We will hope to see you again soon, cheers Janet and Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
5.7 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
4.4 mi away
The Bank Guest House
The Bank Guest House
#2 of 20 in Hawick
319 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Auld Cross Keys
The Auld Cross Keys
#2 of 2 in Denholm
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Brougham House  B&B
Brougham House B&B
#5 of 20 in Hawick
57 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
11.5 mi away
Colterscleuch House & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassendean B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassendean B&B

Address: 4 Hassendean Farm Cottages, Hawick TD9 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a converted farm cottage with bright, cosy en-suite rooms with a fantastic view of the surrounding countryside. We are in a rural setting very central for Hawick, Melrose and Jedburgh and welcome golfers, cyclists, motor cyclists and walkers. We have ample off road parking and use locally sourced produce for our full breakfast menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hassendean B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassendean B&B Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing