We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat - a real home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a treat - a real home from home”
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We spent a few days over Easter this year in Hawick whilst visiting friends and found the Bank Guest house via their own website. You always have to be a bit careful with 'own' websites because they are marketing tools but this one 'does everything is says on the packet'. It really is a good website which tells the truth about the place. The Bank guest house is in a converted bank building and has some wonderful architectural features inside. The decor is just wonderful with sumptuous decor and furnishings, soft towels , fluffy bathrobes , cosy duvets on the bed and luxury bath products in the bathroom. I was amazed that a humble guest house can rise to such a high standard - really 5 star accomodations at 2 star prices.
The owner's Donna an Billy were very freindly and gave us all sorts of information and really made us feel at home right away. The breakfast was magnificent - pretty much anything you could want prepared fresh while you wait and read the daily papers.
I really couldn't fault a thing. Donna greeted us like old freinds and made our stay in Hawick an absolute pleasure.

  • Liked — Wonderful decor, very freindly owner and the great breakfast !
  • Disliked — Only leaving it - but all good things must come to an end.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GS_Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    14
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
157
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

This B&B is really quite unique and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the listed building, a victorian bank, has been renovated in a contemporary style which blends beautifully with the many period features that have been rescued. The bedroom was newly furnished with flat screen TV, DVD player and nespresso machine. The guest sitting room was comfortable with silk rugs and leather sofas and all the days newspapers.

Donna was warm and welcoming and did everything to make our stay perfect. The personal attention makes all the difference and she could not do enough to ensure that we were comfortable.

We were there over Easter and the location was perfect for exploring the borders and Hawick is a pleasant town in which to base oneself.

I would thoroughly recommend the Bank - it is a cut above other B&Bs in the same price range.

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — Many flights of stairs - good exercise though!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AitchX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We booked this B&B through the internet and have to say the rooms were exactly as shown. We were away from home when Donna sent us the confirmation e-mail but she called us on our mobile to give us directions to the car park area at the back of the high street. When we arrived we were provided with a pot of tea and a chat. Our room was beautiful, we had complimentary wine (and crisps!) Donna also provided us with bottles of water and ice. We didn't want to go out for food so we asked her about take aways there was no problem and she even laid a table for us in the dining room. When we asked her what time breakfast was served she asked us what time we wanted it! Her philosophy being you shouldn't be guided by rules on holiday. The breakfast itself was first class and Donna the perfect hostess friendly, chatty and very easy going. We have family in the area and would definitely stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.

  • Liked — The bedroom
  • Disliked — The stairs!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Two couples stayed overnight while attending a function in Hawick. Hosts were extremely helpful in helping us find a good restaurant and booked ahead for us. The rooms were beautifully furnished and finished off with lots of welcoming small touches like water and wine.
Breakfast looking down on the highstreet was as good as the rest of our experience.
Well worth a visit

  • Liked — beautifully serviced rooms
  • Disliked — All on first floor and above
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2008

As an experienced worldwide traveller and having stayed in many hotels and guest houses, the Bank Guest House is one of very few that I would consider outstanding.

It was like finding an Oasis in a desert, superbly decorated, excellent bedroom, great food, very clean and hosted by a helpful Donna.

Many hotels would be put to shame by this guest house.

If you need accomodation in the Borders look no further, you will not find better.

David Thorpe

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank owl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I booked this accommodation from the internet site direct as it looked amazing and we were blown away with the reality that greeted us. The booking was for the common riding weekend, as my 10yr old is a horse fan and a family room was not a problem. Admittedly from the outside it all seemed a little grim and it crossed my mind that the advertisement for the place may have been a fake! Far from it. When we arrived we were met by Donna, the owner, in the garden and were immediately made to feel welcome. We were taken up to the fabulous lounge and offered drinks before being taken to our rooms. The room was absolutely stunning, as was the whole house. Nothing has been spared in the interior design of this accommodation. Everything has been chosen with exceptional taste down to the last detail. Donna and Billy's hospitality was second to none, even going as far as taking us up to the race course. As I wrote in the guest book, I have stayed in many places in this country and abroad as far as New York and Australia, and no where compares to this amazing hidden treasure. It is a unique guest house worthy of 5 star hotel status, and judging by the comments in the guest book, everyone who has stayed there agrees. We have reccommended it to everyone and will continue to do so. It is a shame the last person who left a review had such an unfortunate experience but ours surpassed expectation and we will definitely be going back. This will by far be a successful business.

  • Liked — Hospitality and beautiful decor
  • Disliked — The outside! (though only temporary)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedordeadManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I've been on a bicycle trip through Nothumberland and Scotland through May and June 2008, and while figuring out the route a little bit I found the website of the Bank Guest House. Contacting and booking was very easy and personal, and a couple of days before I started Donna (the landlady) gave me an excellent description how to find the B&B.
The Guest House offers a really warm welcome and hospitality, Donna tried to make everything fine for me (and also my bicycle :-),
she also gave me many useful informations about what's on in town and where to go or eating out.
The Guest House itself is fresh refurbished, bed and bath were modern and comfortable and very clean. All in all I had a 5 Star Sleep!
The breakfast was "cyclists delight", a delicious full scottish breakfast, a big portion, simply a nice starter for me.
All in all, a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — The warm welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was fine.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleandAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
0.5 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
17 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
160 reviews
7.1 mi away
Colterscleuch House & Cottage
5.5 mi away
The Coppice
The Coppice
#3 of 20 in Hawick
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank Guest House

Property: The Bank Guest House
Address: No. 12 High Street, Hawick TD9 9EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank Guest House Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing