We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I chose the Bank as the base for our golfing trip to the Borders on the strength of all the excellent reviews on trip advisor.Expections were high and after staying for four nights our experience greatly surpassed our expectations.
The rooms were spacious,contemporary yet classic.
Breakfast was superb and as varied as you wanted.
There was a warm friendly atmosphere throughout our stay which was generated to a great extent by Donna ,the owner.Nothing was any trouble to this kind and generous lady.She made us fell very welcome and at the end of the stay even took the photographs for our Golf Trophy Presentaion.
Other points to note:private car park at rear and safe storage room for your golf clubs.
There is plenty more i could mention but it has already been said many times in previous reviews.Thank you again Donna for great hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very spacious.One of the rooms also has a bath,rest have good showers
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for The Bank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 319 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Second time we have stayed - excellent room comfortable bed and all useual facilities, safe secure parking at rear. Early morning first rate breakfast helped us get our flight in Newcastle..
The Bank is right in centre of Hawick

Thank you again Donna.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you want the best in accommodation and hospitality then "The Bank" is simply the only place to stay. Large eclectic rooms, fine bedding, well stocked bathrooms, warm surroundings and gourmet breakfasts are the order of the day in this semi hotel setting; which all comes with wifi, ipod docks, flat screen TV, private parking, great location, and a touch of old fashioned character.
The owner Donna is a welcoming, gregarious and attentive host, whose cooking skills would not be out of place in some of the michelin star restaurants we have visited......so expect delicious breakfasts, and if you can persuade her to cook a dinner or join her supper club then its your lucky day!
Thanks for a wonderful 3 days at The Bank, and fond memories of the Scottish borders.......

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stopped on our way South from Aberdeen to Manchester & were really impressed. It feels much more like a small hotel than a traditional B & B. The Décor (to our taste) was perfect & we wouldn't have changed a thing. Donna the owner was brilliant & friendly & the breakfast was outstanding.
All in all very very impressed, highly recommended.

Room Tip: All seemed large & funky our double took a single for our 12 yr old daughter with no problems at...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJDTrueBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted to say an official thank you to Donna for another lovely stay! Love the breakfast text service! Can't fault the rooms, food or service! Nothing is too much trouble Please don't change! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k4te123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I just want to thank Donna for Saturday night at the Bank Restaurant. All 13 of us had the most amazing food, and at £25.00 a head and copious amounts of wine brought bu us of course we couldnt have asked for more We really enjoyed ourselves. My advice to you Donna is why not advertise this amazing restaurant to the rest of Hawick. You would do so well as Hawick is so lacking in good restuarants. Thank you once again and I look forward to our next night out at the Bank Restaurant.per your suggestion next time we might have the thai option.

Donna's upsatairs restaurant is No 1 in Hawick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We chose The Bank because of the reviews on TA - and not one word is an exaggeration! Three days over a week end were spent in Hawick recently when I attended my High School Reunion. Pay attention to instructions for finding The Bank as it has no signage at all on the High Street - just a heavy door between the Oxfam Shop and a Chinese restaurant and a couple of doors up from the Tower Inn. Donna is the owner from just across the Border who has effected a transformation from a solid old Hawick bank building into a warm, very comfortable home away from home. The rooms are large, with each furnished to its own character, and with very well appointed en suites. Excellent quality bedding and towels, fluffy doonas, and tea and coffee making facilities also feature.

You never feel as if you have to tippy toe around someone else's home (which is how I've felt in a lot of UK B and B's.) Yet Donna is always available if you need anything or have any questions. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is fantastic - I indulged my homesick yearning for succulent kippers, and Donna also made me porridge one morning rich with cream and soft brown sugar melting on top (not the way the Scots make it, but a million times nicer) - oh and then the third morning there was the freshest "bap" with bacon and eggs (better than any bacon and egg roll you've ever had!)

The night I went off to my reunion Donna invited my husband to go along with her and some of her friends to a local club to hear some good old fashioned rock and roll - oh and to down a few drinks too. I'm not sure who was in the worse shape the next morning - him or me!

Don't hesitate - book here!

Room Tip: Our room looked out to the back yard, and was very quiet - good sleep quality - no traffic noise at...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
1.2 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
30 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
202 reviews
7.1 mi away
Colterscleuch House & Cottage
0.3 mi away
Elm Guest House
Elm Guest House
#6 of 20 in Hawick
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank Guest House

Address: No. 12 High Street, Hawick TD9 9EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range: $91 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank Guest House Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing