We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not be faulted”
Review of The Salmon Inn

The Salmon Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salmon Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Galashiels B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and it was fabulous. Kingsize bed to myself which was very comfortable, room was spotless and everything I required was there. Breakfast in a box was unusual but quite adequate. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Although above the bar I did not hear a sound. I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlene518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

New to trip advisor and feel I must share how great out experience was at the salmon inn! My husband, sister and I came in on Saturday night for a meal. The restaurant was very busy but we were seated in the "cellar" area which was perfect
For us as my husband is partially deaf. We all had starters and I had the steak, my husband had the Cajun chicken and my sister had the mango chicken salad. The food was first class, well presented and very delicious!!! The service was fantastic, take my hat off to the waitress who was on her own serving a whole restaurant but done at fantastic job. We will most definitely be back! Thank you again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank HScott66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

As one of the six fishers in the group as reported on by Mike R, I can concur absolutely with everything he has written. The welcome was great, the rooms immaculate and comfortable and the pub below was friendly with terrific and attentive staff.I heartily endorse the recommendation of the Salmon to anyone looking for first rate accommodation in the Borders.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

A group of six stayed for three nights while fishing in the area. We had a nice welcome and were shown to our rooms. They were all of a great standard and very comfortable. Mine lacked a wardrobe (!) and electric shaver point but these were not a problem for me. The bed was very comfortable and the en-suite shower room was excellent. Fast wifi was available throughout the building. Breakfast was provided in the form of a box containing various items which was odd but worked OK. The pub is busy and serves good beer and decent food. The staff and owners are delightful and friendly. Parking on the street is the only option but caused us no problem. I would recommend the Salmon to anyone looking for low cost and comfortable accommodation.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hummingbird64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
2.7 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Galashiels
183 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
5.0 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
276 reviews
3.6 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
0.7 mi away
Binniemyre Guest House
Binniemyre Guest House
#7 of 11 in Galashiels
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salmon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salmon Inn

Address: 54 Bank Street, Galashiels TD1 1EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galashiels
Price Range: $103 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Salmon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salmon Inn Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing