We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing place away from it all”

Review of Dignity

Dignity from outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dignity from outside
Dignity from outside Dignity Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Dignity from outside
Dignity from outside
Dignity Hot tub
Kitchen
Kitchen/ Living
Dining area with a view
Dining area with a view
Living space
Utility
Downstairs shower room
Living space Ground floor
Living space 1/2 landing
Living space 1/2 landing
Living space 1/2 landing
1/2 landing bedroom with 4 poster Super king bed and ensuite bathroom
1/2 landing bedroom with 4 poster Super king bed and ensuite bathroom
1/2 landing 4 poster bedroom ensuite
Top landing
Twin bedroom or can be SKS
Main bathroom with bath and separate shower
Main bedroom with ensuite, and dressing room
Main bedroom with ensuite, and dressing room
Main bedroom ensuite
Single bedroom 1
Single bedroom 2
It's all in the detail
loch for wild brown trout fishing
Suffolk ewes enjoying a crisp winter on the hills above Dignity
Dignity is surrounded be 2000 acres of farmland. One of the neighbours
Dignity at Christmas
Dignity at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galashiels, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Steffie70
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing place away from it all”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a family holiday in August which included 5 adults & 3 teenagers. The house is in a beautiful part of Scotland just a few miles from Galasheils. The house is furnished to a very high standard and everything you could need is there, a lot of thought has gone into this house. On arrival there was a large Victoria sponge on the table which was a lovely touch along with milk, coffee & tea so we could make a drink upon arrival.
Liz came to see us on our first evening to make sure eveything was ok, she was very helpful and really cared that our holiday was happy and enjoyable. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well. We were very lucky to have good weather so did not get to try the multi stove in the living room which I can only imagine is a delight when it's chilly outside.
The house is in a central location and we visited family in Gifford, the Edinburgh Fringe & Tattoo and the National Museum of Flight in North Berwick all within an hour away. A shame that we were a couple of weeks too early for the new rail link between Galashiels and Edinburgh.
This is a fabulous property in a gorgeous part of the world and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sralph72
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here as two families of four for 4 nights over the Easter break. It was faultless. The cottage is in a beautiful spot, the owners have furnished it to an exquisite standard and it had absolutely everything we needed and more.The enormous home cooked Victoria sponge on arrival was a lovely touch. The owners came to check that we had everything we needed and couldn't do enough to help us, without being at all intrusive. We were mountain biking at the nearby Glentress forest each day and they had even gone to the trouble of buying a container so that we had a secure lock up for all of our bikes. We had children ranging from 15 to 5 in our party and there was plenty to keep all age groups happy in the area ("wifi great" said our 15 year old immediately on arrival...). We always take our dog with us in the UK and we have never stayed anywhere that is so luxurious and dog friendly. This is a fabulous property in a gorgeous part of the world. We cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enomiddle...
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfort and Style”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were a group of 7 adults plus 1 child and baby who stayed at Dignity for 5 nights over the Xmas period. Arriving on a cold wet day, we were greeted by the sight of a gorgeous homemade cake sitting on the table! A really nice touch, which our 3-year-old son especially appreciated. My partner and I stayed in the master bedroom downstairs, which is a really spacious room with a very comfortable four-poster bed, an ensuite bathroom and doors opening onto patio area. There was a cot made up and waiting for our baby in the room. Our 3-year-old slept in one of the single bedrooms and Liz had told us that there were bed guards provided. We duly found the guards and everything else required for young children (highchair, steriliser, hula hoop!) in a cupboard downstairs.
Overall the house was incredibly well-equipped with a separate laundry/utility area, ample fuel for the wood burning stove, dressing gowns, towels, games, reading material, local information, and the upper lounge even had a piano and guitar. The 2 lounge areas with 2 televisions worked well for a large group and subsequently, there were no major rows over the holiday period! The kitchen was very modern with more than enough crockery, utensils, dual oven and large fridge with icemaker etc. The ground source pump heating system worked a treat and we didn't really need to light the wood burning stove.
This comfortable, stylish house is set in peaceful countryside within easy reach of nearby villages and towns. I would say it is ideal for large groups looking to get away from it all with a large dollop of comfort thrown in.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gin698
Brierfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A more comfortable, luxurious, immaculate residence we have never seen.”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at this 5 bedroomed house near Galashiels as a large family group celebrating a ruby wedding. It was large enough to accommodate all of us easily, with room to spare and yet just the main living accommodation- open plan kitchen/dining area/sitting room was comfortable and generously proportioned for us all to enjoy ourselves in our own spaces. The furnishings are elegant, simple, robust and luxurious, easy to live in and keep clean, We loved the Scottish textiles, and the paintings, and the kitchen had everything you could possibly want. There were flowers, a cake, lovely white towels and dressing gowns, the tourist info and the lovely, helpful attitude of everyone we met. The house was warm, the showers hot, the parking easy and the atmosphere peaceful.

There were lovely local walks, stunning autumn colour and a local gamekeeper stopped to offer us a lift and spend quite a while telling us about the area game. Pheasants seem to roost in the grounds.

What didn't we like? Nothing, except that it rained one day- but that didn't stop us! There was still plenty to do. The music room was a wonderful bonus.

We count ourselves very lucky to have stayed at Dignity and recommend it whole-heartedly to anyone else..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy to keep clean: everything in the right place just as needed.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_wilso...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easily the best rental property we've ever stayed in - I can't believe there's a better one out there”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (2 families with 2 and 3 children respectively - 9 people in total) had a superb time at Dignity for 5 nights in April. The location is fantastic - on a farm with good walks all around, but also close to Galashiels and Edinburgh and plenty of days out - Bowhill House is lovely and very good value. The property itself has to be seen to be believed - high quality fixtures and fittings, beautifully decorated, very clean and really cosy (despite being so large!). We had an amazing time and were very sorry to leave. Liz was also a fantastic host - we didn't want for anything and the kids loved going to the farm to see the lambs. There is also an enclosed garden which is really safe for the little ones. By far the best experience we've had, renting a property for a break in the UK. Thanks Liz.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it - stunning location and beautifully decorated
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchenree
Stranraer
1 review
“A house to wrap you up in luxurious comfort.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The chocolate cake in the glass cake stand awaiting you on arrival sums up the thoughtfulness which pervaded our visit. The rooms are beautifully decorated throughout with Anta furnishings. The kitchen has every conceivable utensil and gadget and the bathrooms have luxurious soaps and lotions and thick white towels. There is ample space to spread out, with two sitting areas. Even visiting dogs arr provided with a comfy bed and clean shiny bowls. Two large flat screened tellies with DVD players kept the young entertained. A good range of DVDs and books were on offer. The woodburning stove was thoroughly cosy. The only sound you might hear is the hooting of an owl or the bleating of a lamb at bedtime. Comfy beds and crisp white sheets were just the ticket for deep, uninterrupted sleep.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules1234...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“You won't regret booking!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Absolutely bowled over with this property. It is superb. So much attention to detail, quality furnishings and decor, warm welcome.

So many things that normally need to be brought with you are provided. All the bathrooms come with hand-wash, shower gel and hand lotion. There are complimentary towels, dressing gowns and hairdryers. All of which makes packing easier. The kitchen is large and stocked with all the mod cons. It was a joy to cook/bake in.

Already planning a return trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing