We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip that was worth making just bause of my stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsknowes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsknowes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business Trip that was worth making just bause of my stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I travel alot with work and stay at many hotels in my days away from home, which can be quite lonely and rarely do I come across a hotel where you feel so at home away from home.
The hotel is nice, grand building, beautiful lawns which would be lovely in summer. Initally didn't have internet in my room due to the distant of the room from the office, however when i mentioned it at reception, Jenny (who i found out later was the proprietor) gave me another room with internet facilities. No fuss whatsoever. Both rooms were lovely and cosy. The location of the hotel for my trip was excellent. I managed to get to most of my locations at the borders within 18 miles of the hotel which was perfect.

It is nice to stay away from home to be welcomed by smiling, generous, friendly and warm hearted people. The staff at this hotel are amazing, i have never met people so warm and kind. The food....OH MY GOD!! it is amazing! Scrumptious, belly filling homecook food... Thanks to the talented chefs. if I had my way, I would take one home with me! Thank you for the Fudge :)

Absolutely loved my stay at Kingsknowes hotel. I will most definitely be back soon. I would high recomment this hotel for a brilliant experience, rooms, staff, location, facilities. etc etc i could go on and on..

Room Tip: If you are travelling with business and require Internet in your room, i would suggest that you ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bublie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    49
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
44
41
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in July last whilst going to The Open at Muirfield G.C. Not round the corner, granted, but by choosing to be a few miles further afield, we saved a packet and the drives to and from, which we did very early (06.30) and late (after 19.30) were fabulous - cracking views, scenery, devoid of traffic - stayed on smallest Country Lanes & missed A.7 etc. Strongly commend the B6368 !

The Hotel is very near the Junction (roundabout actually) of the A.7 and the A 6091, but access is down a small side Lane into and through a Housing Estate. Assume that the Old House's grounds were sold off for that purpose some years ago. I might be wrong, but that was our guess and a bit weird it was too.

The building itself is a rather grand old (Classic Scottish Castlate) House, in what appeared to be quite spacious grounds, high on the Banks of the River Tweed, but which were decidedly neglected and very overgrown/unkempt. Sadly much the same feeling derived inside.

Everything seemed dark, grey, ill-lit, old and a bit neglected. Big if not massive rooms with very high ceilings and tiny windows. Our Room, whilst huge and very comfortable, reeked of damp, so we jammed two windows open for the whole two days - to significant effect I might add.

Bar - dark, round the back through the kitchens, and unwelcoming.

Restaurant - we went out, it looked so good.

Breakfast - we had left before it was even close to being served.

Have just read a couple of others Reviews' set alongside this page. Seems I was at another place altogether. Completely respect their opinions though.

Sorry, but I stand by the above/mine. The potential is obvious, The reality is Average. A lot needs to be spent to bring this place up to 21st century Standards, retaining of course the grand Old House's character. I would mute Stage 1 is a super clean, and massive dose of TLC ('Tender Loving Care'). Without that I cannot foresee it surviving and suspect an enlargement of the aforementioned Housing Estate will ensue.

PS. From the original Booking, made by me by-phone, they were so lax about sending the Confirm by EMail that I had to follow-up twice. Not good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I wasn't expecting much as hotels in small towns often leave a lot to be desired. Delighted to say I was very, very pleasantly surprised. Beautiful hotel, though perhaps seen some better days - I' live in an old building and old buildings have character. I couldn't fault, the cleanliness, friendliness and food. Highly recommend staying here - in fact I'm just about to book another stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moyagney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here for the Open Golf Championship at Muirfield which was about an hour away. This hotel has unique architecture and has a great deal of character. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were generous and clean. Nice restaurant and bar and a garden overlooking the hills.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicNacH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is always clean, service is very friendly feel very spoilt every time I stay. ( End of every month for a week since October )
The rooms are very spacious.
Excellent food very reasonably priced, large portions always homemade and fresh.
Full breakfast available, or a combination of the menu or just coffee and toast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Another great meal at the Kingsknowes. Staff were great and the food was spot on! Can't fault anything here will definitely return for another helping. Would be a nice visit in the summertime to sit in the gardens with cold beer or two.... :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thomo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights while doing a course locally. A bit of a hike from the town centre but lovely classic manor house style hotel. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Food was lovely. Room 14 was spacious and very comfortable. highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fussy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
3.7 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 3 in Galashiels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Pus Scottish Borders Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
2.6 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsknowes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsknowes Hotel

Property: Kingsknowes Hotel
Address: Selkirk Rd, Galashiels TD1 3HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsknowes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Kingsknowes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsknowes Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing