We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cozy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clovenfords Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Galashiels
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quaint and cozy!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Clovenfords has the nicest people on staff that I've ever met and the location was impossible to miss. The room was clean and quiet, with a large lovely bed, and awesome bedding. The bar had a good selection of whisky, and the kitchen provided a fantastic breakfast. We were passing through for only one night, but we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
42
64
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a lovely looking restaurant - beautifully decorated and the two young girls waitressing were excellent, especially the Irish girl. This place could be fantastic but there was just too many mistakes when it came to the food. It is also very good value - three courses each, two large glasses of wine and a pint cost £59.

We both had vegetable broth - presented very well but completely lacked flavour, it was a though they had forgotten to add stock or season. My partner asked for sirloin steak but thinks he got ribeye and it was slightly overcooked for him. He did however comment that despite that, it was a very tasty steak and very enjoyable. I had the burger which was absolutely delicious and I would thoroughly recommend. We both had what looked like homemade onion rings which looked great but again, the batter lack flavour. Pudding was caramel apple pie which was good and creme brulee which tasted very good but the sugar was not fully melted on the top so no crack and raw sugar.

I really feel that this place could be great and hope the management use this review as constructive - the actual food is obviously of very good quality, its just flavour and detail that is lacking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Hi guys thanks for the very pleasant night with you at the Clovenfords hotel. Found the place great and brought back lot of memories . As a child I used to occasionally come to Clovenfords as my grandfather was the head gardener to lord craigmyle at fairnilee . But as I mentioned to the gent behind the bar about the farmer and Scottish rugby and we chatted about Wattie Dodds and his sons . Anyways I am off on one lol back to hotel , place great , staff very friendly , food brill ( take the full Scottish brekkie) will come back in the summer

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went on saturday February 8th for 1 night. A very friendly welcome from staff. The atmosphere in the bar was superb. The local people very friendly and welcoming. Accomodation top notch . Food very tasty and sadly i couldn't finish it all. Will def be back. Thanks all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenc6561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here Friday / Saturday and was impressed by the sheer peace and quiet of the hotel and the village.
The room was big, clean and comfortable bed, clean bathroom nice towels and shower stuff.
I recommend the Scottish breakfast, it kept me going all day.
There is a good sized bar area with a good selection of ales, whisky etc the locals are pleasant and welcoming, I enjoyed a couple of drinks with my legs stretched out in front of an open fire, bliss, so relaxing.
Ok, it good do with a small décor update but it wouldn't stop me saying here again, if you need a bit more action it is only 10 minutes from Galashiles, the bus stops right outside the front door.
Enjoy.
Be seeing you!!!

Room Tip: I understand that all rooms are of a similar size, the whole place is quiet so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was sent up to work in the area for two weeks and booked into here as they offered a great deal. I was put into a double room with en suite. The bed was comfortable and the room was big. Only let down to the room was that the shower was poor and the decor could do with been updated. Breakfast every morning was spot on and I had various breakfasts. Top one was the full scottish breakfast and the smoked haddock. Did not eat evening meals a lot of times but every time I did they were brilliant and mainly the fish and chips. Would recommend this to everybody.
The bar area serves real ales that I sampled and were top draw and the locals that drink in there are very friendly and made my stay that bit more special.
The staff here were fantastic and very helpful. They would do anything for you straight away. Special thanks go to Ross and the girls for making my stay very enjoyable and I will defiantly be visiting again. Thank you very much

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micky9nufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Spent 2 days fishing the Tweed and stayed at the Clovenfords. Staff and the locals congregated in the pub were extremely friendly. Wouldn't let me spend a schilling on a dram! If you're looking for a good fishing holiday and a nice, clean, friendly place to stay, then the Clovenfords is a perfect spot.

Room Tip: It's a pretty easy bus ride from Edinburgh if you're a Yank like me and are afraid to drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
9.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
914 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
12.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
5.3 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clovenfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clovenfords Hotel

Property: The Clovenfords Hotel
Address: 1 Vine Street | Clovenfords, Galashiels TD1 3LU, Scotland (Formerly The Clovenfords Country Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clovenfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clovenfords Hotel is situated in the village of Clovenfords in the heart of the Scottish Borders. It is only 3 miles from the busy Borders town of Galashiels. Edinburgh and other Scottish Borders towns including Melrose, Kelso, Jedburgh, Hawick and Peebles are all easily accessible. In the immediate area activities such as fishing (on the River Tweed), mountain biking (Glentress), golfing, shooting and off road driving are all readily available to hotel guests.The Clovenfords Hotel has all the character, warmth and friendly charm you would expect from an 18th century coaching inn. We look forward to extending to you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clovenfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels
The Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing