We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clovenfords Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kingsknowes Hotel(Galashiels)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Hotel(Selkirk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
County Hotel(Selkirk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windlestraw(Walkerburn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
81
67
20
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
67
20
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar areabar lunchpub grubgroupon dealslept like logscurrysky tvmonday nightfriendly localsvisited todayvery enjoyable eveningroast dinnerhaggissir walter scottroaring fireroom was clean and comfortabledouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 189 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff were very pleasant and helpful but single room was too small and had no window. Shower room also small but did have a window and only a small strip light over mirror which was not over the w.h.b. Single wardrobe was very unstable. Bed comfortable and facilities in room generally OK. Evening meal was very well cooked and presented and breakfast was good. Reasonable value for money. Parking is in street adjacent to hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the single room No.8. Front facing rooms will have great views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rslgmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the twin room overlooking the car park and the green hills across the valley. The room was just a bit dated, though clean and reasonably comfortable, but had all the amenities one might expect. The shower was good, but we had a little trouble with the lights in the bath. Dinner was fine, price reasonable. Breakfast was good. Staff was pleasant.

The inn is located on the roundabout in Clovenfords, about four miles down the road from Galashiels, in the opposite direction from Melrose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floating_stump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The beds are firm but very comfortable. The shower is piping hot and of monsoon like proportions.The breakfast was a well cooked scrumptious feast. The staff are friendly, helpful and always cheerful. There is good parking but not a cash machine for miles. It is a little shabby in places and the front bedrooms are a little noisy during dinner service but I may just being a bit picky. We have every intention of staying here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_Hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We returned here to stay as we enjoyed it 3 years ago. Ross and his team made our stay so enjoyable that we just did not wish to leave. Jackie and Rhona (breakfast host) were so polite, helpful, friendly and genuinely looked after their guests. A party of 7 of us had our evening meal on the Saturday evening and we had no complaints, service and food (1st Class) even although there was a Private Birthday Party taking place within the glass conservatory. They are in the process of refurbishing the bedrooms so please be kind to them and remember that you are staying in a very old coaching inn and not a Flashy Hotel so keep that in mind.
Thank you all once again for such a lovely stay and already looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoweOTheMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is probably best described as being 'a little tired' as it is in great need of smartening up. That said, the room (No.3) was comfortable with firm beds permitting a really good sleep. Excellent breakfasts and wonderfully friendly staff. But oh, those damned jackdaws!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKVocalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews