We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly with a Good Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clovenfords Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Galashiels
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Friendly with a Good Breakfast”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The beds are firm but very comfortable. The shower is piping hot and of monsoon like proportions.The breakfast was a well cooked scrumptious feast. The staff are friendly, helpful and always cheerful. There is good parking but not a cash machine for miles. It is a little shabby in places and the front bedrooms are a little noisy during dinner service but I may just being a bit picky. We have every intention of staying here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
42
64
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fettercairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We returned here to stay as we enjoyed it 3 years ago. Ross and his team made our stay so enjoyable that we just did not wish to leave. Jackie and Rhona (breakfast host) were so polite, helpful, friendly and genuinely looked after their guests. A party of 7 of us had our evening meal on the Saturday evening and we had no complaints, service and food (1st Class) even although there was a Private Birthday Party taking place within the glass conservatory. They are in the process of refurbishing the bedrooms so please be kind to them and remember that you are staying in a very old coaching inn and not a Flashy Hotel so keep that in mind.
Thank you all once again for such a lovely stay and already looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoweOTheMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is probably best described as being 'a little tired' as it is in great need of smartening up. That said, the room (No.3) was comfortable with firm beds permitting a really good sleep. Excellent breakfasts and wonderfully friendly staff. But oh, those damned jackdaws!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKVocalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had Saturday evening dinner here recently. Haddock and chips were excellent with imaginative presentation and garden peas cooked to perfection. Delicious sorbet. Excellent value for money. Young staff polite and efficient. Well done.
We look forward to returning with friends soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frr137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have both eaten and stayed here and I can't complain about either. As I was on business I was on my own however not only did the management and staff make me feel welcome but so also did the locals in the bar! I brought an iPad with me but completely unnecessary - everyone was extremely friendly!
The room had everything I needed - en suite, tea/coffee making facilities, free wifi and sky TV - I'm not sure what else people could ask for.
I have eaten here for 2 nights and both nights the food was fresh, homemade and really enjoyable!

I am back and forward on business and will definitely choose to stay here again.

My recommendation is to come and try the food for yourself and if you're looking for a cosy country inn within the Borders then look no further when booking a trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Food cooked well but meat portions not huge and should be able to serve veg. oneself at a carvery. Most importantly plates cold therefore food lukewarm. Have had better locally.Room, conservatory also too warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shibbs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Visited The Clovenfords Inn with friends and what a lovely place it is.
Attentive staff, good beer and the food went down a storm. The macaroni and cheese was in nice runny sauce (bit more English Mustard would have finished it to perfection) but overall no complaints. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
9.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
914 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
12.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
5.3 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clovenfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clovenfords Hotel

Property: The Clovenfords Hotel
Address: 1 Vine Street | Clovenfords, Galashiels TD1 3LU, Scotland (Formerly The Clovenfords Country Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clovenfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clovenfords Hotel is situated in the village of Clovenfords in the heart of the Scottish Borders. It is only 3 miles from the busy Borders town of Galashiels. Edinburgh and other Scottish Borders towns including Melrose, Kelso, Jedburgh, Hawick and Peebles are all easily accessible. In the immediate area activities such as fishing (on the River Tweed), mountain biking (Glentress), golfing, shooting and off road driving are all readily available to hotel guests.The Clovenfords Hotel has all the character, warmth and friendly charm you would expect from an 18th century coaching inn. We look forward to extending to you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clovenfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels
The Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing