We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family fishing trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clovenfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clovenfords Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Chorley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“family fishing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed with my brother and nephew for two nights in a triple room to fish the nearby Tweed. Staff were superb, room was excellent value for money, food was great and plentiful. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome, chef even made us a packed lunch to take on to the Tweed! Bar was a lively environment full of welcoming characters, with a great range of draught and bottled drinks. Well be returning soon and hopefully often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
41
62
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scottish borders
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited the Clovenfords Inn for an evening meal.I was totally shocked at the menu that was on offer Macaroni Cheese, Fish & Chips etc. Macari,s Cafe came to mind.I do not know what has happened to this establishment but I would suggest a decent chef may be good for starters.A member of our party had a steak and at nearly £18 was as tough as old boots and even with a steak knife had great difficulty cutting it and that was medium rare. We also had what was supposed to be a steak pie this consisted of some stew and a piece of pastry slapped on the top presentation nil. I wonder whether other folks are thinking the same as it was a Saturday night and there was only us and two other couples.We have eaten here in the past and have never experienced anything like this .We had also intended to come along on the Gala Day for food but there is no way we will be back until there has been a major improvement.Sorry!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galaleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDH2012, Owner at The Clovenfords Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, although as you can imagine I'm rather disappointed to say the least.
Our menu is based on good 'Home Cooked Food' that the majority of our clients really enjoy. Judging by most of our reviews we must be getting it right most of the time. We also use our 'Specials' board every night with at least 3 other special dishes available. Everything is cooked to order and carefully prepared with local fresh ingredients.
On this occasion you feel that our standards where not at the desired level and I'd question why you did not bring this to our attention at the time? Had I been on shift I am certain this would have been addressed with you right away as I'm very passionate about my business.
Our Steaks are sourced from 'Shaws Fine Meats' of Lauder and are excellent quality.
As for 'other folks' as you put, all businesses will have busy and quiet times and thankfully we are working hard to gain an excellent reputation for food and accommodation as you will be able to see from our Majority reviews.
We have also won a 'Certificate of Excellence' from TripAdvisor only this week.
Thankfully your review is a minority review, however I've discussed these points with our team and if you'd care to contact me personally I'd like to discuss with you so we have a chance to redeem ourselves. It's so disappointing how people hide behind internet reviews and don't come forward. I'm here and ready to listen.
Thank you.
Paul Turner
(Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Having just spent a night in the Clovenfords Country Inn, I have to say that we were very impressed, particularly with the pleasant friendly staff. The bedroom and en suite were immaculate, though in need of a little upgrading, which I understand is an ongoing project by the New Owner. However the room was warm, beds were very comfortable with quality clean linen.The en suite was clean with sparkling white towels and plenty of hot water both at the sink and from the shower. The Free Wifi was a bonus. Everything we could ask for in a room.
A special word for the young girls serving dinner, as they were very pleasant and helpful through out, despite being run of their feet that night. The food in the Vineyard dining room was very good and reasonably priced. Altogether a pleasant place to stay so we hope to return the next time we are in the Borders.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cushiedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrived late afternoon met with lovely staff and instantly felt relaxed. Our room was ground floor and perfect for us as we had our dog with us and able to take him out for walks without us disturbing other guests. Doggie biscuits left on wee plate lovely touch.
We had a light snack in the bar and a wee drink very relaxed and staff helpful. We had a lovely meal in the dining room that night met with cheerful banter and staff lovely . Followed by cocktails and karaoke good fun listening to the singing our room was close bye but no concern with lounge across the way . lastly breakfast oh me what a delight so much food .
Our room was clean and very comfortable also nice to have the tea and coffee tray . We give a big thank you for our stay and the dog loved his walks hope to return soon . Wish we had longer very contented couple

Room Tip: room 6 good for any one with mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

3 of us stayed here as we had a fitness course in Galashiels all weekend. This place is great. Warm, welcoming and shown right to our room by the owner (who was lovely, and always smiling and happy for the whole weekend). Nothing was too much trouble for them the entire weekend.
Room was a triple room, great size, Sky +HD box in the room, plenty of storage space for the three of us. Only little niggle would be the carpet in the ensuite as would have preferred tiles or a wipe clean surface but have read replies below noting that this is being changed room by room so thats great news. Other than that cannot fault the room at all. Comfy beds, great bed linen, and like I said generous size!
Breakfast and evening meals 5*, great home cooked food! The bar area had Karaokee on the Saturday night which was fun. Great drinks, good times!
Free Wi-Fi is great too! some of the chain hotels charge a fortune for this so its nice to have these little perks!
Highly recommend staying here if your in the area! You definately wont regret it!! :) Will definately be back if we are in the area again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Arrived late morning, early afternoon and room not quite ready, but we didn't mind as we were hungry for lunch. We had a lovely snack by the roaring fire. Checked into the room and then travelled into Edinburgh. We returned and had dinner, again good quality wholesome food. Room a little tired, but could see where it had been improved and having read other reviews I can understand totally that they are doing all they can on a rolling programme. The only issue I have was the shower, which was new, but kept going cold on one morning. The breakfasts I have to say are wonderful, both myself and my partner had full 'Scottish' breakfast with the haggis and that kept us full almost all day.
Would stay here again if passing through this way again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happysmile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were given a warm welcome on our arrival and the room and ensuite were clean and comfortable. The evening meal and breakfast were first class and every member of staff were helpful and very friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
9.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
6.3 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clovenfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clovenfords Hotel

Property: The Clovenfords Hotel
Address: 1 Vine Street | Clovenfords, Galashiels TD1 3LU, Scotland (Formerly The Clovenfords Country Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clovenfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clovenfords Hotel is situated in the village of Clovenfords in the heart of the Scottish Borders. It is only 3 miles from the busy Borders town of Galashiels. Edinburgh and other Scottish Borders towns including Melrose, Kelso, Jedburgh, Hawick and Peebles are all easily accessible. In the immediate area activities such as fishing (on the River Tweed), mountain biking (Glentress), golfing, shooting and off road driving are all readily available to hotel guests.The Clovenfords Hotel has all the character, warmth and friendly charm you would expect from an 18th century coaching inn. We look forward to extending to you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Clovenfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels
The Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing