We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clovenfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clovenfords Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've not been for a few years now, but we went to the Clovenfords Hotel for a bite to eat this Sunday. We couldn't believe there was an all-you-can eat carvery for £8.95 so we filled our boots. The roasts were generous, not overcooked, and very tasty indeed. With a free drink included, we had a dessert each and it was still only £42 for two adults and two children.
Aside from good value, the staff were all very friendly too and we will most certainly visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelieveInLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
41
62
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovenfords
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We popped down to the Clovenfords Hotel for a meal last night, and to watch the Firework display that the hotel put on for the people of the village.
I can't speak highly enough of this place since the new owners took over.
Now I am pleased and proud again to call it my local.
The Monday steak night is FABULOUS, and great value for money. The three of us ate our fill for under 30 quid, and our plates were clean!
All of the staff are friendly, and can't do enough for you.
I think this might be a regular Monday night thing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here as I had a business meeting the next day very early in the morning.

The rooms are recently renovated comfortable and functional.

The welcome was warm, food good, breakfast very good.

The landlord is really trying hard and I would recommend this for an over night stay.

A tad pricey at £75 but competitive for the area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petermaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

On arrival the hotel looked very quaint and welcoming. The car parking was more than ample. Welcomed warmly by the manager and promptly shown to our room. Room was very homely and comfortable, spotlessly clean. Nice little extras like kettle, tea and coffee, bottled water etc. as well as having central heating it also had an electric heater in the room, which was a nice extra. We headed down for dinner and again received a warm welcome. Food arrived quickly and it was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble, we ordered Irish coffees and took them up to the room. We had a great night sleep and the bed was very comfortable and linen smelt gorgeous! Towels where all lovely and fluffy and again smelt gorgeous. Breakfast was fantastic, beautifully presented and the pancakes where out of this world...we would go back just for them! All in all a very pleasant stay, our7 year old daughter loved it, as the staff made a fuss of her!! Would definitely return...

Room Tip: Room 2. Family room had a double bed and a single bed, not a single squashed in, it is always there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
690 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were going to be travelling around the area and chose Clovenfords as a base. A good choice. The bed was comfortable, the bath large with plenty of hot water, good breakfasts and we enjoyed our meal in the the restaurant too. It could have had more parking or some of it should be reserved for hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked a table for six in the restaurant for a family birthday. As there was a large party using the dining room we were given a table in the lounge bar. We asked for the evening menu as it was a special occasion and our waitress checked with the kitchen what could be had from it. Two items were unavailable which left plenty choice. The food arrived promptly, it was well presented and the staff were attentive without being intrusive.

Three of us had steaks all cooked to our choice - blue, rare and well done. After starters and main courses we could only manage coffees. The double espresso is a real shot in the arm for caffeine addicts. The Americano stands up for itself.

One of the owners, Gary Blair, was on hand throughout and rightly talks with pride about his hotel and restaurant.

We'd eat there again and recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Travelled to the Clovenfords hotel this week for work. After a warm welcome, I was shown to my single room, which was cosy and perfectly clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. My only tiny complaint about the room was that the only mirror was a very small one in the bathroom, quite high up above the toilet, which made putting my make up on in the morning a wee bit awkward!
I ate in the restaurant that night, and the the food was fantastic! I would visit again just for that!
I have to say, the best thing about this place was the amazingly friendly staff and locals! I had intended on hiding in a corner of the bar with a coffee and my book before dinner, but was made to feel so welcome, I ended up chatting with the lovely locals at the bar for hours!!
I would highly recommend a visit to the Clovenfords!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
5.3 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
9.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
5.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clovenfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clovenfords Hotel

Property: The Clovenfords Hotel
Address: 1 Vine Street | Clovenfords, Galashiels TD1 3LU, Scotland (Formerly The Clovenfords Country Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clovenfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clovenfords Hotel is situated in the village of Clovenfords in the heart of the Scottish Borders. It is only 3 miles from the busy Borders town of Galashiels. Edinburgh and other Scottish Borders towns including Melrose, Kelso, Jedburgh, Hawick and Peebles are all easily accessible. In the immediate area activities such as fishing (on the River Tweed), mountain biking (Glentress), golfing, shooting and off road driving are all readily available to hotel guests.The Clovenfords Hotel has all the character, warmth and friendly charm you would expect from an 18th century coaching inn. We look forward to extending to you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Clovenfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels
The Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing