We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mess”
Review of Borders Railway

Borders Railway
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Galashiels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mess”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I don't find this an attraction, I find it a complete waste of the tax payers money, and as for attracting tourists how are they going to see our historic places when they get of at the station ??? after all our bus service is not reliable and will it take them to the door !!! I don't think. it is a joke, the only good thing is it gives people work for a wee while

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vivien p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    18
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a collection of building sites”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I really wouldn't call this an attraction, just a collection of 'works in progress'. I imagine that even an avid enthusiast would struggle to find something here; for the rest of us then it's nice to know that there will be trains running to the Borders in several years time but that's as far as it goes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scratch2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Reconstruction of Waverley Railway Line”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Closed since 1969 in the Beeching cuts that closed many lines in Britain is now being reconstructed to open in 2015.
This is your one and only chance to see the construction work between Galashiels and Edinburgh.
Easy drive along the A7 which follows most of the route and you can easily see what is happening on the line.
Not to be missed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank onebrawlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not much of a railway, more a construction sight”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I walk part of this "sight" in Galashiels every day with my dog. It will be 2015 before the railway actually exists and the trains start to run so it is not much of an attraction yet I'm afraid

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank x-trailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borders Railway also viewed

Galashiels, Scottish Borders
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
 
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
Melrose, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Borders Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing