We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will never be beaten for a b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monorene Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Galashiels B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2011

we stayed for one night, just passing through,arrived late, with a wagon, met Malcolm, & he took us around & showed us options of where to park,, what a helpfull & friendly great guy, the breakfast was the best we have had anywhere... just one thing... if your thinkin of goin out... gettin drunk, & commin back rowdy, dont bother, cus i,m sure u wont get a very good reception commin back in... cant fault it at all

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcommingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

The owners were so friendly and helpful with any questions we had about the local area and scotland in general. The rooms were clean and tidy, no complaints. Breakfast was amazing really top job.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gardzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed at the Monorene Guest House on two occasions now and have booked up for a further stay in August.

Once arriving I was greeted by the friendly owners Malcolm and Joan. They really couldn't do more to help, advising on places to eat and drink.

I took the single room as I was travelling alone. It was very clean and comfy with tea and coffee making facilities and Freeview TV. No problem at all sleeping in the bed. It was not en-suite however (which I knew before I travelled) and it was not an issue at all as the shared bathroom was just a few steps away. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained.

The breakfast is delicious with ample portions, together with cereal and toast I was positively full for the day. The Dining Room is in line with the rest of the Guest House, very clean, tidy and tastefully decorated.

Yes, it may be noisy in the daytime as there is a busy road nearby, together with the bus station. But, the Monorene is centre of Galashiels so I would not expect anything else. But, with any busy road it gets a lot quieter at night so it really is not an issue. The location of the Monerene is idea.

In summary, I cannot fault the Monorene at all, that's why I keep going back. Be sure you don't miss out too!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discoandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have stayed at this guesthouse on numerous occasions and are returning next weekend. Its location is great, right in the center of Galashiels, next to the shops, bars & restaurants. Although the area it is in is not noisy.The Monorene has its own private parking area & the rooms are very clean.
Malcolm & Joan make their guests very welcome & you get a good hearty breakfast in the morning, plus a good banter with Malcolm about the Village pub he used to own. He has many stories to tell! We are looking forward to returning & would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debj1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We just stayed the 1 night as we were heading back home to Yorkshire.
We were given a very warm and friendly welcome. The bedroom had all that we required. t.v etc and the beds were very comfortable.
There was off road parking at the back, and we could not fault the breakfast in any way.
If we were ever in Galashiels again, we would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffy051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Monorene, it was just a 1 night stop over but the location was great, some lovely restaurants, bars and shops close by which made it very convenient. The owners were v frindly and made us feel welcome and i got the impression they couldnt do enough for us.
The brekkie in the morning was brill, good start to a long day.
Would stay here again...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prellie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, arrived late which was no problem for the owners Malcom and Joan, warm friendly welcome and helped up to our room, which was spacious , clean, warm , and comfy, tv reception was great as last time we stayed in a neighboring hotel we had only 1 very hazy channel as the owners were to mean to properly upgrade the tv's, will definately be returning with the family in the summer. as well as the warm welcome we were told places to eat and places to go for a drink and sunday night pub quiz. Off street parking so near to the shops and town centre an added bonus, would have no problem at all recommending the Monorene as a Galashiels stop over!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yvie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
6.7 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
977 reviews
3.7 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
322 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Galashiels
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Binniemyre Guest House
Binniemyre Guest House
#7 of 11 in Galashiels
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watson Lodge Guest House
Watson Lodge Guest House
#5 of 11 in Galashiels
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigielea Guest House
Craigielea Guest House
#6 of 11 in Galashiels
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monorene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monorene Guest House

Address: 23 Stirling Street, Galashiels TD1 1BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galashiels
Price Range: $74 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monorene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monorene is a traditional Guest House set in the heart of Galashiels, just a stones throw from the train station where you can jump on a train and be in Edinburgh within an hour. The guest house features 6 rooms, with a mix of singles, twin and family rooms. All the rooms are well appointed, clean and tidy, and have all the facilities you would expect. Guests will receive a warm welcome and have use of free parking, free wifi, a home cooked breakfast and much more. Galshiels is a small quiet town located perfectly for day trips to Edinburgh, without having to pay the high prices of city accommodation, but close enough to make travel to the city a breeze. Train tickets to Edinburgh are just £10. The owners pride themselves on the cleanliness and warmth of the accommodation, making sure each and every guest enjoys their stay. Your day will get off to a fantastic start with a delicious home cooked breakfast. The Borders is full of historic places to visit: Ancient Abbeys, Stately homes, Museums, Roman Ruins and most of all the most beautiful scenery that can be found in Scotland. The Scottish Borders is also home to Freedom of the Fairways where you can visit up to 21 of the friendliest Golf Courses in Scotland with Golf passports from £75 for 3 days and £110 for 5 days. (Passports are valid from 1st April to 31st October) Whatever your interests, you'll find something in the Borders, and at the comfortable Monorene Guesthouse, your bed and breakfast stay will be an enjoyable, relaxing experience. Please note - there are no card facilities on site, if you wish to pay by card contact us in advance and it can be arranged. We do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Monorene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monorene Guest House Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing