We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Wonderful!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galashiels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthornbank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Galashiels B&B and Inns
Lanark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Wonderful!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After a senic drive from Lanark we were greeted by Helen on arrival and it set the tone for the whole of our stay. As many other have said below its the small details which made such a difference. Too many to list but the decor, pristine cleanliness, outdoor areas, breakfast, unexpected night cap in front of the open fire and a lazy afternoon in the conservatory are just a few of the highlights. We stayed in room number two which was beautiful. The whole experience was one we shall certainly be back to repeat. Can not recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
38
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is quite simply the best b & b I have ever stayed in. Helen and Ian could not have been more hospitable. Ian picked me up in his car from the bus station and drove me to the Hawthornbank. Both Helen and Ian welcomed me like old friends. I was provided immediately with a delicious cup of coffee and some fresh Scottish strawberries.

The whole house is beautiful and immaculately clean. You have everything you need in the bedroom. The beds are very comfortable with luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets. The Scottish breakfast was beautifully cooked and very large. There was also an extensive cold buffet. The Hawthornbank also has a hot tub - amazingly relaxing. You can also relax in the conservatory or in the large elegant sitting room. Hawthornbank is a beautiful period house.

I would say that Helen and Ian treated me like one of the family - but it was better than that!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomjamesscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Have just returned from a three night stay at Hawthornbank, and can honestly not find fault with anything (apart from the weather). Helen and Ian are such lovely people and cannot do enough for you.
On arrival we had a warm welcome from Helen, Ian and Bracken the dog, and were shown round the guest house, which was a beautiful building with lots of character, there was a residents lounge, which looked very comfortable and inviting and had an 'honesty bar', a nice dining room with conservatory off, and a nice decking area outside with a hot tub for guests use (under cover, so can be used in any weather).
Our room was beautiful, very spacious, bright and clean, and a very large extremely comfy bed with feather quilt and a choice of pillows, tea and coffee making facilities were also supplied.
The bathroom was again very spacious and well equipped with an excellent state of the art shower and towels, robes and toiletries provided.
We were asked what time we would like breakfast, and my goodness, what a breakfast, it was a huge scottish breakfast, very tasty and well cooked, and plenty of hot toast, as well as fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, tea and coffee, could not find fault, except that there was too much!
We did get the opportunity to use the hot tub and Helen brought us out a jug of pimms and two glasses which was a lovely touch.
Would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had a really lovely stay despite the horrible Scottish weather. :-) Very comfy room with the best shower I have been in in years! Felt so welcome and the breakfast was lovely.
The guest house itself is gorgeous too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I just need to tell you about this fantastic guest house.It is the most welcomed place you will ever stay. Needless to say this is our fourth stay here,this time we stayed 3 nights last time 5 nights and we will be going back soon.Helen and Ian make you so welcome you feel like it is your house and you feel part of the family.The rooms are spacious and luxurious with egyptian sheets on the bed's. Every time we stayed, there were fresh flowers in the room.There is a vast breakfast menu.Helen always ask you what time you want breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble for Helen and Ian. All I can say is wow wow wow, amazing house and people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Hawthornbank is the kind of wonderful little guest house we love finding. Our room was beautifully decorated and fitted out with everything we could possible need. Helen (and Bracken the spaniel!) made us feel most welcome. So much thought and effort has obviously gone into making a visit here special and memorable; thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had the most amazing two nights at Hawthornbank - our thanks to Helen, Ian and Michelle for making our stay so comfortable and luxurious. What a beautiful home - everything was perfect and we were made to feel very very welcome. As said in other reviews, nothing was too much trouble for the Calders to make our stay so so pleasant. The rooms were very spacious and beautifully decorated - no detail was omitted. It was in a quiet location although it was easy to walk into town and we had a delicious meal at the Salmon Inn - highly recommended. Two nights was not long enough - We didn't want to leave and are already planning our return trip next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy_M444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
2.7 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Galashiels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.7 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.9 mi away
Binniemyre Guest House
Binniemyre Guest House
#4 of 11 in Galashiels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Salmon Inn
The Salmon Inn
#3 of 11 in Galashiels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthornbank Guest House

Property: Hawthornbank Guest House
Address: Hawthorn Bank High Road, Galashiels TD1 2BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galashiels
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully presented boutique style Guest House, set in the beautiful centre of the Scottish Borders. Fantastic views offering the following: grand rooms, all en-suite, king-size beds, hot tub, fluffy soft towels, open log fires, wi-fi, steam showers with lighting effects, flat screen TVs, organically fresh sourced food .... pure luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthornbank Guest House Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing