We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawthornbank Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Galashiels
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Kingsknowes Hotel(Galashiels)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Station Hotel(Melrose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
County Hotel(Selkirk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
83
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubguest housenothing too much troubleb btop classdays walkingthe en suite bathroombreakfast was delicioushigh standarda wonderful staytrain stationthe ownernext morningyogurthelenhostsgem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 86 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed with Helen and Ian for a second time on our way up to Scotland for our holiday knowing we would be treated like family ane well lookedafter and have a fantastic breakfast to send us on our way. On arriving Helen was the perfect hostess in asking if we would like a table booking at the Salmon Inn for our evenonjng meal this is run by her daughter and a great place to eat. Fab food at a good price. On return the hot tub was all ready and waiting for us to relax in to wind down.
Thank you again Helen and Ian we always know where to return to be well looked after and would highly recommend it to anyone going to the borders.
Carol and Dave.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boydy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Couldn't fault a single thing, everything is done to make you welcome and very at home. The finishing touches in the rooms were superb. The weekend was a Christmas Pressie from my Mum who had stayed there last year, a BIG THANK YOU to my Mum for such a wonderful treat. Would have no hesitations in recommending and would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Helen and Ian couldn't have done more to make our stay so wonderful. They both made us feel so welcome and at home. Relaxing outside in the hot tub overlooking the hills with a glass of wine just added to the experience. The bedroom was exceptional. Helen has even offered to send us details of their recent trip to Italy, our next holiday is either to Italy or back to see them. We shall certainly return. Thank you once again Helen and Ian.
PS: The food your daughter served and the bar service from your other daughter was also excellent in the Salmon Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithandJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

If you want a real treat, stay here. My wife and I had the time of our life. The house has great beds,views,and hosts. The Calder's have great knowledge of the area as well as golf courses etc. Helen can also help you with contacts for your family history. Ta Ta Jerry & Phyllis Bacon Vancouver, Wa. USA (PS. stop by the Salmon Inn for something to eat and drink)

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank slab0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We could not fault anything in this exceptional B&B. Wonderful hosts, who really could not do enough for you and superb room with first class facilities. Already planning another trip next year to include this B&B

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews